Wedding Gift Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Reduced servings to 22, as I had 3/4 lb each of ground beef and sausage. Also only used 4 cups of water. Still a little thin--likely go with 2 1/2 - 3 cups next time. Liked alot, though--will def make again. Thanks to OP and other reviewers for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I used this recipe as my base and I really liked it! I didn't have butter so I used all olive oil and sauteed my onion and garlic (and some red pepper flakes) before I added the hamburger and italian sausage which I doubled. I used all tomato sauce instead of paste and puree as I didn't have that on hand. The italian seasoning that I used had lots of rosemary in it already so I left out the extra rosemary. After I cooked it I transfered it to my crockpot on low for about 4 hours. Every one was ravng about it and it was even better for lunch today after sitting overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Blackshear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Didn't use the butter, used fresh basil, red wine, and 1/4 c. sugar to omit the acidity. I really liked the consistency of the sauce. I also omitted sausage to reduce calories. I'd make it again. Have fun with seasoning. That's the best part of making spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA
Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This is the best Spaghetti Sauce I've ever had or ever made! I put ALL the spices in my Magic Bullet to completely blend and pulverize, then added them as per the directions. Other than that I made exactly as written. It has the texture and flavor of an "HOURS" cooked sauce. I do believe the trick to this recipe is the minimum of 2 hours simmering with the lid OFF! It came out perfect. I fed 4 Granddaughters, my youngest son and husband & myself. There wasn't one drop left. I will be making this again and will make for gifts and canning too. Really the very best Spaghetti Sauce ever!!! If I could, I would give this 10 STARS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was an amazing recipe, with a few modifications. I did not omit the butter as some others have done, but halved it (I think it adds depth). Instead of 9.5 cups of water, I added 7, along with 1.5 cups of red wine and the liquid from reconstituted wild mushrooms (about 1 cup). Also added chopped wild mushrooms, halved kalamata olives, capers, and about a tsp of Umami paste. I was dubious of the rosemary in this recipe but it blends perfectly. Definitely recommend adding the salt, though it says optional. I also simmered covered for 1.5 hours, then uncovered for another hour to reduce it down. Beautiful!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I've been making this recipe for years and it's still the best one ever! I use hot sausage instead of the mild and sometimes I'll add extra rosemary. It makes a lot and freezes very well! This is the secret to my awesome lasagna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kylee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Oh my! This is the WORST spaghetti sauce I have ever made! I followed the recipe exactly and after two hours my sauce looked like a thin soup. I decided to let the sauce simmer longer (for 6 hours) and it still never thickened! By that point I figured I would try it anyway hoping the flavor was good. Nope! The sauce was very acidic and the tomato flavor was very strong. I had to add some sugar to counteract the acidity and tomato taste. I also had to add more garlic and other spices to get the mix right. The only reason I rated this a 2 and not a 1 is because after my doctoring of the sauce it was edible. I will NEVER make this sauce again. If you choose to make it, I suggest using much less water (and less tomato paste), adding sugar, more garlic, less rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This is very rich but oooohhhh sooooo good!! I followed this for the most part but did add some favorite seasoning and herbs. Don't be afraid of all the water, it cooks down and helps soften the flavors as it reduces. This make 3 2lb deli containers for the freezer. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
We love this spaghetti sauce recipe. I usually just make the sauce, omitting the meat and make Meatball Nirvana recipe for the meatballs. This recipe is great as-is, but is also so versatile, that I now usually make it with the tomato puree and two large cans of San Marzano tomatoes, coarsely chopped. I sometimes skip adding the tomato paste and adjust the water amount to 1/3 of the amount called for. Just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
My family loved this sauce. I did double all the ingredients except for the water to create a thicker sauce. I also added a 1/2 c of brown sugar to cut the acid from the tomatoes. Made enough sauce for three pans of baked pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Plyler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States