Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I tried this out for our wedding mini-cake. We wanted something for a funfetti base that was denser than the box mix. Given that....I did like this recipe standalone. The best comment to describe it is, "it tastes like sugar cookie or shortbread." I did not add frosting to it yet, I feel with a nice frosting it would make a great standalone cake. I love the density, but this didn't work well for my funfetti base. I'll definitely make this again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Clements

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I like the cake, with the added almond extract and salt. I made 1/2 the recipe (12 servings) and baked into cupcakes. The half recipe makes 20 cupcakes and bakes in about 20 minutes. I baked mine for 25min and they were dry :( I hope this helps anyone who is wanting a smallish batch of cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aleena Prek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I love this cake! It is extremely dense (like pound cake), but the flavor is nice and subtle (like a good sugar cookie).I have made it for several occasions and it has always been well received. I bake it in my 10" round pan. I finish it off with a light glaze over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2bake
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe. I used this recipe for my daughters wedding cake. I added the zest of one orange to basic recipe. Made a 4 layer cake and baked ahead of time by several weeks. Most folks said it was the best wedding cake they had ever had. Very buttery, moist and tender, yet held up very well in the building process. This cake taste like pound cake but is much lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I liked this as a starterecipe. I added salt and almond extract, omitted the baking soda, and used heavy cream instead of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This is more like a pound cake. Very heavy very dense. Not at all what I was looking for. I followed the recipe exactly other than adding 1/2 tsp of almond extract. Dislikes: Very heavy very dense Had a very crusty top Very sweet MUST watch very carefully as not to over bake. Needed lots of cutting and trimming because of the crust that forms. Likes: Was firm for fondant Tasted rather good (with small adjustment) I don't think I'll be using this recipe again just was not what I was looking for for a dense nice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I have used this recipe exactly as written several times now. Even baked it in high altitude of Denver, CO. It is always perfect! Today I made one slight change and now I love it even more. I beat the egg whites separately and folded them in after adding the sour cream and flour. This helps the cake rise more evenly and makes the texture not so dense. I also use only clear pure vanilla. I am a former bakery owner with many years of cake baking experience. This is my "GO TO" recipe for wedding cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Loved this recipe! I did add 1/2tsp salt, 1/2 tap almond extract and a 1/2tsp lemon juice and it was amazing. Whoever said this cake was bland obviously didn't add anything to the recipe, because I tasted the batter before and after making the additions and the salt and extract made a huge difference. I am an experienced baker and love sweets but I can honestly say there aren't a lot of cake recipes that surprise me in flavor and texture but this one did. I loved the texture and the flavor was spectacular. I did use the remaking batter to make cupcakes and I agree with person who said they don't turn out as well in cupcake form. I'm not sure why but they weren't as moist and the texture wasn't the same, so stick to it in cake form and u won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Love it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
This cake came out thick, heavy like a pound cake and sweet. I made my own chocolate icing with Hersheys Special Dark Cocoa. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States