Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2006
I've made this cake several times & I always get rave reviews. Here are some changes I've made though.... Add 1/2 tsp. salt Add 1/8 Lemon extract Add 1-2 tsp. Almond extract I add the above in addition to the tablespoon of vanilla. I've also tried a flower nail in the middle to see if it cooks quicker. I'll let you know. A moist yummy dense cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
I am making my own wedding cake and thought I would try a few out for the big day. I love this cake so much. Not too sweet, super easy to make anyone can make it. The cooking time is pretty exact, and it is super moist. Now I just have to find the perfect icing. I gave it 5 stars, i just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PATRINCIA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Okay, to be fair to this cake I am amending my original review, but am only increasing the rating to 4 stars because of the need to revise the recipe. I made this cake again with a few additions based on what others have suggested (1/8 tsp. lemon extract, 1 tsp. almond extract, and 1/2 tsp. salt). Those additions made a huge flavor improvement upon the original recipe. I found that this cake bakes up beautifully in several different sized cake pans, but didn't do as well in cupcake form. It is also very sweet (similar to cotton candy in taste) and very dense, but it cuts beautifully and stays moist for a couple of days. I can understand why others have described it as being Pound Cake-like, but that's not completely accurate.... pound cakes are indeed heavy and moist, but they also have an incredibly silky texture, and a delicately sweet buttery flavor that just melts in your mouth - this cake is nothing like a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRINCIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I made this cake for my brother's wedding 2 weeks in advance (froze it right out of the oven) and the ENTIRE cake got eaten (not a matter of servings - there was plenty). I got SO many compliments on this cake. I put the Rolled Buttercream fondant over top of Buttercream Icing submitted by Sharon G. - It was PHENOMENAL. Thanks for a great success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I was initially optimistic when I read the ingredient list for this recipe, however, it was a bit of a disappointment. To its credit, it was a very moist dense cake. The things that I didn't like were that it had very little flavor if any, it was more of a pound cake than a cake, and I think the leavening is a little off of the ideal. At any rate, I think that this recipe could be really good with some slight alteration but as written, it isn't there yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friend, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Summit, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
This was a nice cake. I have been testing lots of different white cakes to decide what I'd like to use for my wedding cakes. This is one of the finalists! It has a nice sweet flavor that's not overly sweet. My only complaint was that I had a crusty top. After the cake was leveled it didn't matter, but that was just a small annoyance. Oh and I did add an additional 1/4 tsp almond extract which tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaresMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
the texture is similar to pound cake. i like it because it is easier to cut whereas the other cakes i tried tend toi crumble more when i cut them. the flavor is bland, so i added 1/4 tsp. orange extract and 1/4 tsp. almond extract. it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
This cake was nothing like wedding cake at all. It was way too dense and not very light as wedding cake should be. This cake is more like a pound cake and would be good baked in a smaller pan like a pound cake or no yeast bread. The cake doesn't taste too bad but it most certainly is nothing like wedding cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
I made this cake for a recent baby shower, it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I did make some changes: 2 1/4 c cake flour, used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening + 1T water, added 1 t almond extract and 3/4 t salt. I separated the eggs and whipped the whites to soft peaks before putting them in. But with those changes I will use this recipe for all wedding cakes to come! It is very important for all ingredients to be at room temperature for good texture, and also very important to take it out of the oven right when it's done or it will get dry. It is NOT a white cake (butter and egg yolks!) but turned out very pale yellow, has a fine crumb, is soft and delicious. I love it, and I am very picky about cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States