Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This is an easy from scratch yellow cake that has a lot of flavor and density. It is rich and delicious. Be careful not to over beat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I made this recipe using the recommended changes including the salt (1/2 tsp), almond extract (1 tsp) and lemon extract (1/8 tsp). The cake was a major hit!!!! It tasted great without any frosting and great with a buttercream crumb coat and fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
FINALLY--A cake recipe that came out PERFECTLY!! I had been searching long and hard for a cake recipe that would accomodate 14" and 10" Wiltons cake pans. Up until I found this recipe, none of the other cake recipes were coming out properly (not even the Wiltons cake recipe off their own website came out) no matter what I did. About the only "tweak" that I made to this recipe was up the vanilla a scoche and added almond extract for a nice little twist. Other than that, the recipe was EASY, straight forward, and delicious! DO BRING INGREDIENTS TO ROOM TEMPERATURE AS DIRECTIONS INDICATE!!! It makes all the difference in the world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DodgerFanRedding
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Shasta Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
In a 10 inch tube pan, it takes one hour 15-20 minutes to back till a tooth pick comes out clean. I added one teaspoon of vanilla to enhance the flavor and it is OK. It is lighter than a pound cake. It might be able to handle more extract... not sure how much. Some recipes of this type use up to two tablespoons and get away with it. Depends on how it is to be served. If frosted maybe more flavor, if plain with some sauce, maybe not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Made as directed, but had to cook a little longer due to being raw when it was first taken out, (I may have overcooked it, not sure) but was dry and crumbly the first day, a little better the 2nd day (after being refrigerated over night) I removed the entire outside top, bottom and sides when I made it due to the outside having a tough crust on it. Flavor wise it was not too bad, I agree with the other comments that it is more of a pound cake just not as sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrostyBobber
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Very dense cake and more dry than moist. We did not eat it the day of baking, but I crumb coated it right away so it shouldn't have dried out. The cake did cut very well and also held fondant very well. I adjusted the flavor as recommended and it was still a little bland. It looked beautiful, but that was about it! Sorry...will be looking for another cake that hold up to fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
When I first rated this I gave it 1 star because it was buttery and tasted horrible. about 3 years later, still in my search for the perfect white/wedding cake made from scratch, I went and read through the reviews and took others advice and added a bit of salt, 1 tsp almond flavoring and instead of 1/8 tsp lemon like other suggested I used 1/4 tsp orange extract. and Wow! what a HUGE difference! I now have my from scratch white/wedding cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
perfect . . . i made a wedding cake for a friend and this recipe was very well recieved and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Ok - I will be the first to admit that I can screw up a recipe, but I followed this exact and this came out awful. It was dense and moist on the inside, but very crunchy on the outside, making it difficult to cut, but I could have dealt with that. However, the worst was the taste; it actually left a bad taste in my mouth. I am giving this a 2 because there were so many good reviews and it could have just been me, but I myself will not make this again – Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Wonderful cake, wonderful texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Robinson

Displaying results 71-80 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States