Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This cake was ok for a white cake - but Definitely did not taste like a wedding cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This recipe was very bland. I took the advice of others and added almond extract, lemon extract and lemon juice. It still wasnt that tasteful. The only reason I gave it a 4 star was because we put cream cheese filling between the two cakes and a cream cheese frosting. This added more flavor. Im not sure if I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Added 1/2 tsp salt. Tasted similar to angelfood cake and pound cake together. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
My family loved this recipe! I made my daughters birthday cake from this recipe and everyone at the party ravved about how good it was. No complaints here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nresch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I don't understand all the low reviews. This is a traditional wedding cake recipe which allows the person making the cake, stackability. I followed the directions exactly because I was testing 3 different recipes and wanted to find which was best without tweaking. This one had a more spongy, moist cake. I think because of the sour cream. If you want more flavor, any extracts could be added to take it up a notch. This does make a more yellow then white cake. If you have trouble with it being too dense, check the expiration date on your baking powered. Thank you Larisa for a nice recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERI63MI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
WARNING: this is nothing comparable to a wedding cake or any cake for that matter. Its dense, and resembles a mix between a pound cake- except more moist, angel food- because of the rubberiness, and a biscuit- because of the overwhelming butter taste and crispy outer layer. It was a waste of time and money. Next time I'll stick with a cake mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I thought this was a very good, simple and really easy recipe! I don't know what the one reviewer said about it being too dense, it was slightly dense but nothing like pound cake. I have made this three times now. I've cut it down to about 2 cups sugar, it was too sweet for my personal taste. You can easily substitute other flavoring extracts for the vanilla (such as raspberry, almond, lemon..) and make a custom cake with a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I have now used this recipe more times than I can count, sometimes following the recipe exactly, sometimes adding almond extract. I have had people request "that pound-cake-like" vanilla, and brides have raved at tastings. My mother and a roommate steal the scraps when cake is leveled, stating no icing is even necessary. I recently added a box of dry Cheesecake pudding just to see what would happen...didn't really notice a change. Excellent and different. Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I thought this was a great recipe. I added 1/4 tsp of salt and 8oz of cream cheese for extra flavor and moisture. The only thing is that it didnt have a whole lot of flavor so I doubled the vanilla and added in a little bit of lemon juice and some shortbread coffee syrup and it came out amazing. I also baked it at 300 so it didnt dry out or bake too fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lumbee Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Fort Benning, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wendi
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
so this recipe is a bit of a bummer. after reading the reviews i added the almond extract, salt and lemon as suggested. When i was baking the cake I thought...wow thats a lot of sugar and I was right. This cake is very very sweet. I had to use shortning frosting because of the Texas heat and the combination of this cake and sweet frosting was a but much. I am afraid that if you cut back on the sugar you wont be able to cream seven eggs properly. I have to say it almost tasted like a sugar cookie cake, dense, sweet and floury (i know not a word but an accurate description) I used a tart blueberry filling which helped and I got compliments, but I know a good cake and this just isnt it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States