Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This recipe was very bland. I took the advice of others and added almond extract, lemon extract and lemon juice. It still wasnt that tasteful. The only reason I gave it a 4 star was because we put cream cheese filling between the two cakes and a cream cheese frosting. This added more flavor. Im not sure if I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Added 1/2 tsp salt. Tasted similar to angelfood cake and pound cake together. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
My family loved this recipe! I made my daughters birthday cake from this recipe and everyone at the party ravved about how good it was. No complaints here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nresch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I don't understand all the low reviews. This is a traditional wedding cake recipe which allows the person making the cake, stackability. I followed the directions exactly because I was testing 3 different recipes and wanted to find which was best without tweaking. This one had a more spongy, moist cake. I think because of the sour cream. If you want more flavor, any extracts could be added to take it up a notch. This does make a more yellow then white cake. If you have trouble with it being too dense, check the expiration date on your baking powered. Thank you Larisa for a nice recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERI63MI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
WARNING: this is nothing comparable to a wedding cake or any cake for that matter. Its dense, and resembles a mix between a pound cake- except more moist, angel food- because of the rubberiness, and a biscuit- because of the overwhelming butter taste and crispy outer layer. It was a waste of time and money. Next time I'll stick with a cake mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I thought this was a very good, simple and really easy recipe! I don't know what the one reviewer said about it being too dense, it was slightly dense but nothing like pound cake. I have made this three times now. I've cut it down to about 2 cups sugar, it was too sweet for my personal taste. You can easily substitute other flavoring extracts for the vanilla (such as raspberry, almond, lemon..) and make a custom cake with a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I have now used this recipe more times than I can count, sometimes following the recipe exactly, sometimes adding almond extract. I have had people request "that pound-cake-like" vanilla, and brides have raved at tastings. My mother and a roommate steal the scraps when cake is leveled, stating no icing is even necessary. I recently added a box of dry Cheesecake pudding just to see what would happen...didn't really notice a change. Excellent and different. Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I thought this was a great recipe. I added 1/4 tsp of salt and 8oz of cream cheese for extra flavor and moisture. The only thing is that it didnt have a whole lot of flavor so I doubled the vanilla and added in a little bit of lemon juice and some shortbread coffee syrup and it came out amazing. I also baked it at 300 so it didnt dry out or bake too fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lumbee Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Fort Benning, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wendi
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
so this recipe is a bit of a bummer. after reading the reviews i added the almond extract, salt and lemon as suggested. When i was baking the cake I thought...wow thats a lot of sugar and I was right. This cake is very very sweet. I had to use shortning frosting because of the Texas heat and the combination of this cake and sweet frosting was a but much. I am afraid that if you cut back on the sugar you wont be able to cream seven eggs properly. I have to say it almost tasted like a sugar cookie cake, dense, sweet and floury (i know not a word but an accurate description) I used a tart blueberry filling which helped and I got compliments, but I know a good cake and this just isnt it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This is an easy from scratch yellow cake that has a lot of flavor and density. It is rich and delicious. Be careful not to over beat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States