Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
THis cake turned out great! It just takes a while to bake. I also added a 1/4 teaspoon more baking powder to help with the density of the cake. It worked very well. I also made two 8 inch rounds and two 6 inch rounds for an easter cake. This worked beautifully! My only complaints would be the cooking time and the crust that forms on the top and sides of the cake. The taste is wonderful! (i added an extra tsp of vanilla extract)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
So good! Used this to make cupcakes, and it had a great taste too it. I was a little unshure about the little abount of baking soda and powder, but this turned out wonderful! Will make again! The first time I used convection, and the cake was very yellow, with a dense crumb, but the secont I used regular bake and it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvz2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I made this cake for my sisters 40th Birthday. I did not receive rave reviews but everyone thought it was good. Personally, I thought it was too dense and lacking in flavor. I would definitely make it again, perhaps chocolate frosting would pair better than buttercream. Also, I cooked this cake for 45 minutes and that seemed too long. I think 35-40 would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I'm not sure what this is, but it is NOT a wedding cake. It is almost like a pound cake that would be very good with strawberries etc. But not as a cake. It is lacking on flavor, even when I added vanilla. It definately wasn't moist. It was heavy and dense.....do not make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Great cake! Nice dense, moist, rich yellow cake. The butter and egg flavors really come through, much like a pound cake, in both flavor and density, though not quite as fine of a texture as pound cake. Great for carving! Too dense for cupcakes. Tastes better the second day. The cake has a slightly crusty surface after baking, but it will absorb a bit of moisture from icing and go away after decorating it. Because of the richness of the cake, I suggest an icing that's not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPORTBIKERCHIC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I am making my friend's wedding cake in a couple months and was looking for the perfect recipe so I could avoid using boxed mixes. I cut this recipe down to 6 servings so I could just give it a try and provide her with some samples to taste (I used two whole eggs, though). I was a little concerned about the small amount of baking soda and baking powder, but it baked up beautifully. I made mini cupcakes and got 20 of them out of 1/4 of the recipe. I baked them for 20 minutes, but I think 18 minutes would have been better. The texture and flavor are perfect and pair very nicely with the bride's choices of fillings and icing. I'd like to experiment with this recipe, substituting a little cocoa for part of the flour to see if I can get a decent chocolate cake, too. Thanks for a really great recipe! ****UPDATE**** My friend and her new husband loved the cake! Several wedding guests also complimented me on the cake (flavor, texture, etc) and one lady even asked if she could put in an order for her birthday cake...in December! Thanks again for helping me give my friend the gift of a perfect wedding cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I made the cake just like it said and it was way way to dense wayyyyy to sweet maybe I did some thing wrong but whewwwwwww! talk about a sugar buzz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I love this cake recipe! I have made it a couple of times for different cakes, both with fresh strawberries and cream cheese frosting, and I have gotten rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I was very happy with this recipe! I did make a few changes for a lighter, fluffier cake... I used cake flour instead of all-purpose, doubled the baking powder, and used 9 egg whites instead of 7 whole eggs. A little extra vanilla or almond doesn't hurt either. All in all, the cake is delicious and stackable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I did make some changes: 2 1/4 c cake flour, used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening + 1T water, added 1 t almond extract and 3/4 t salt. I separated the eggs and whipped the whites to soft peaks before putting them in. But with those changes I will use this recipe for all wedding cakes to come! It is very important for all ingredients to be at room temperature for good texture, and also very important to take it out of the oven right when it's done or it will get dry. It is NOT a white cake (butter and egg yolks!) but turned out very pale yellow, has a fine crumb, is soft and delicious. I love it, and I am very picky about cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

How to Prep Cake Pans

Watch how to properly prepare a cake pan in two easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States