Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Just made this cake today. I love it! I made the changes that another reviewer mentioned (1/8 tsp Lemon, 2 tsp Almond Extract and 1/2 tsp Salt). It turned out super moist and fluffy. I didn't think it was too dense, I love the texture and everything about it. Cannot wait to finish it off with my raspberry filling and white chocolate buttercream. Well, actually I cannot wait to eat it!!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I just made this recipe last night for my chorale group to celebrate our director's wedding. I doubled the recipe for a 1/2 sheet pan and it came out great. Everyone complimented me on it even the men.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I don't know how this cake is supposed to turn out, but the cake I made ended up so heavy (literally and figuratively) I was afraid of it. I admit everyone thought that it tasted great, but I think that there is still something wrong when the batter looks nearly like dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
came out amazing! don't try and get rid of the Sour cream because it won't work then. I also layered the cake with fresh fruit and added some lemon zest witch gave it a great flavor. Orange zest also works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I made this for my husband's birthday with a buttercream icing. This cake is a gut buster. It is denser than a regular white cake, but not as dense as pound cake. If you are going to be adding a lot of frosting or layers of fillings, this cake would hold up. I did put the 2 layer cake after I frosted it in the freezer to set the icing. It even freezes well and it not a bit dried out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This cake was extremely moist and melted in your mouth; it was delicious! I added 1/8 tsp lemon extract, 1/8 tsp almond extract, and 1/2 tsp salt. I thought that the 1/2 tsp salt made it a little too salty, but it wasn't in the original recipe, so I still give it five stars. It also came out of the pan fairly easily. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashakins
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I followed the adapted recipes with 2 tablespoons of almond extract and 1/8 lemon extract and this cake was a dream, moist, dense, perfect for stacking and icing. I filled it with strawberry filling and strawberry white chocolate ganache on the bottom and top layers and raspberry and raspberry ganache in the middle layer. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Simple, moist and delicious! This one is a keeper and will be served in my home for years to come. Thank you so...much for such a terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I'm giving this 3 stars because, I had to modify the recipe (according to other user comments it needed extra flavoring) and I thought the cake was very similar to another pound cake recipe I use. Overall, it was good, but it was a very heavy cake and I had trouble baking it in 9" pans. I had to rotate it a few times and it still wasn't quite done in the middle after baking it for almost 40 minutes. I can't imagine trying to make a layered wedding cake with this recipe. It would weigh a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMIELOU82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
THis cake turned out great! It just takes a while to bake. I also added a 1/4 teaspoon more baking powder to help with the density of the cake. It worked very well. I also made two 8 inch rounds and two 6 inch rounds for an easter cake. This worked beautifully! My only complaints would be the cooking time and the crust that forms on the top and sides of the cake. The taste is wonderful! (i added an extra tsp of vanilla extract)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States