Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
This cake came out thick, heavy like a pound cake and sweet. I made my own chocolate icing with Hersheys Special Dark Cocoa. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Love the crumb density, I added a shot of bourbon and doubled the vanilla--delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Just a lovely cake. Tight crumb, moist, deliciously sweet vanilla, and pretty to boot. Topped with a vanilla buttercream frosting it looked almost ethereal. This would be PERFECT for a wedding cake or for an everyday layer or sheet cake for that matter - and it was perfect for my cupcakes too! Filled, flavored, frosted or plain, I can't imagine being disappointed with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Very good cake but this is not a white cake! This is more yellow so I was disappointed and now I must make a new recipe that is actually white!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I made this cake as a test cake for my bridal shower as I am going to be making my own wedding cake. I made 2 tiers instead of the 3 I will be making. I received so many compliments about how delicious the cake was. It was a big hit. It definitely will be what I will use for my wedding cake. I doubled the recipe and I was able to get an 8x8 square and 12 x 12 square, but I could have used a little more batter. It was moist and dense which is what I was looking for, this will make the stacking much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This cake taste like angel food cake, with the density of a pound cake. I added the almond, salt, and lemon extract and used plain yogurt and its flavor was still very mild. My husband and kid tore it up though (which is unusual). My husband said that he liked that he didn’t feel the need to sweep the frosting off. Another review said that the cake was better on day two and I fully agree
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I was very disappointed in this cake. I was looking for a white cake and was excited about making this for my family. It turned out to be a dense, pound cake. I should have realized this when it called for sour cream. If you are looking for a moist, white cake, find another recipe. If you are looking for a pound cake, this would work. Maybe add a little lemon zest and a little lemon and it would be good. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I have made at least a thousand recipes from this site, and this is the first review I've ever written! I just made this as a cake and cupcakes for my son's birthday, and it is the BEST cake I have ever had!! SO GOOD!!! I really beat the batter well after each egg, and it came out super light and fluffy. My only change was I added orange extract, as I didn't have lemon. Thanks for this!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I made this cake today and it is outstanding. My granddaughter keeps asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amhcooking

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Although I did enjoy the thick texture of this cake, it was completely flavorless! I followed the recipe exactly, and should've added flavoring like others suggested. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States