Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
One cake turned out better than another. Maybe it was overcooked because it was a little dry. The flavor in both cakes, however, was wonderful! I applied some of the changes suggested in other reviews - adding lemon extract and almond extract instead of the vanilla. Yum! That's a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This cake was amazing! Like others, I think the consistency was more of a pound cake but that made it even better. The taste reminded me of Tastefully Simple's almond pound cake mixture only better! I served it with raspberry topping which was really just a raspberry filling recipe that I found in a Betty Crocker cook book. The flavors were amazing together. Everyone loved it and I will definetly be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I gave this recipe a five because it's moist and have the taste that I was looking for. I haven't made a wedding cake, but I have made this cake four times and everyone loved it and asking for the recipe. Thanks A Lot!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I made this cake for a practice wedding cake-3 tiers 2 cakes each of 12in, 9 in and 6 in. I put it together and iced it and had the couple-my brother and his fiance-come over the next afternoon to have a tasting. The consistency is just like a pound cake. I added 1/8tsp lemon extract, 1/4tsp almond extract and the full tbsp of vanilla extract and it was SOOO delicious. This batch makes 2 9inch rounds, or a 12 inch round or 1 9 inch rounds and 2 6 inch rounds. The thing I didn't like about the cake was that it tended to get hard overnight. This is something you would have to bake the day of-not the day before. It was nice and moist the day of, but the next day it was harder to cut into and didn't hold as much moisture as I would have hoped. The next day it was worse. All in all it was a very good cake, baked easily, pretty easy recipe. But they're looking for more of a fluffy-less dense, cake for their wedding. Great pound cake though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melody O
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This is a perfect wedding cake recipe. A little denser than a traditional recipe, but it allows for a nice cut with little crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I have used this recipe twice now. Though I add a little extra vanilla, and have to bake it for longer than 60 minutes in the bundt pan. I love this and get rave reviews every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I liked that it wasn't super sweet but it was a bit dense and dry for me. Would be great cake for a jello cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nixa, Missouri, USA
Living In: Richwoods, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This is a very good pound cake recipe. The taste is great. In my opinion it's kind of strange for a wedding cake, but then again I eloped:) Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This is a delicious cake recipe. I made it for brothers wedding. I got so many compliments that evening. It was very east to cut and ice. I baked the cake in four different sized round pans to make the traditional tiered wedding cake. It was perfect. I recently made the cake in the 10 inch bundt pan and the batter was way too much and overflowed all over the oven. Next time I will not use all of the batter to compensate the bundt pan or I'll use a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I made this recipe with the 'Wedding Cake Frosting' submitted by Jeannine. I added some strawberries, and it turned out very well - but as others have said, it was quite dense. I added more baking soda and baking powder, but it was still tough to cut and more like pound cake than the fluffy wedding cake I imagined. It was still delicious, however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States