Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I made 18 servings of this recipe in a 8 inch round, 3 inch tall pan, which worked out well. The cake had an excellent crumb, and a sweet bland flavor, which would make it a good choice for a wedding cake, when you layer and fill with fancy fillings. For a non-layered cake I think it would be too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
One cake turned out better than another. Maybe it was overcooked because it was a little dry. The flavor in both cakes, however, was wonderful! I applied some of the changes suggested in other reviews - adding lemon extract and almond extract instead of the vanilla. Yum! That's a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This cake was amazing! Like others, I think the consistency was more of a pound cake but that made it even better. The taste reminded me of Tastefully Simple's almond pound cake mixture only better! I served it with raspberry topping which was really just a raspberry filling recipe that I found in a Betty Crocker cook book. The flavors were amazing together. Everyone loved it and I will definetly be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I gave this recipe a five because it's moist and have the taste that I was looking for. I haven't made a wedding cake, but I have made this cake four times and everyone loved it and asking for the recipe. Thanks A Lot!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I made this cake for a practice wedding cake-3 tiers 2 cakes each of 12in, 9 in and 6 in. I put it together and iced it and had the couple-my brother and his fiance-come over the next afternoon to have a tasting. The consistency is just like a pound cake. I added 1/8tsp lemon extract, 1/4tsp almond extract and the full tbsp of vanilla extract and it was SOOO delicious. This batch makes 2 9inch rounds, or a 12 inch round or 1 9 inch rounds and 2 6 inch rounds. The thing I didn't like about the cake was that it tended to get hard overnight. This is something you would have to bake the day of-not the day before. It was nice and moist the day of, but the next day it was harder to cut into and didn't hold as much moisture as I would have hoped. The next day it was worse. All in all it was a very good cake, baked easily, pretty easy recipe. But they're looking for more of a fluffy-less dense, cake for their wedding. Great pound cake though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melody O
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This is a perfect wedding cake recipe. A little denser than a traditional recipe, but it allows for a nice cut with little crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I have used this recipe twice now. Though I add a little extra vanilla, and have to bake it for longer than 60 minutes in the bundt pan. I love this and get rave reviews every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I liked that it wasn't super sweet but it was a bit dense and dry for me. Would be great cake for a jello cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nixa, Missouri, USA
Living In: Richwoods, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This is a very good pound cake recipe. The taste is great. In my opinion it's kind of strange for a wedding cake, but then again I eloped:) Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This is a delicious cake recipe. I made it for brothers wedding. I got so many compliments that evening. It was very east to cut and ice. I baked the cake in four different sized round pans to make the traditional tiered wedding cake. It was perfect. I recently made the cake in the 10 inch bundt pan and the batter was way too much and overflowed all over the oven. Next time I will not use all of the batter to compensate the bundt pan or I'll use a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States