Wedding Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I didn't care for the the all shortening taste. Next time I will try with half butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I used this icing recipe for my own wedding. I didn't have almond extract so I used double vanilla. The Cake turned out wonderful, and I used it with the recipe for Heavenly Wedding Cake (recipe found on Allrecipes). Everyone really liked the cake! The recipe was easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Very sweet! Goes on easily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonenberger0512

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Ideally I'd rate this 4-1/2 stars, just short of perfect because it's just a little too sweet for me. Generally for this amount of fat, whether it's shortening or butter, I prefer a ratio of 1 cup butter or shortening to four cups of powdered sugar. This recipe was TWICE that amount of sugar, but I wanted to give it a try. I used an egg white for part of the water called for and eliminated the almond extract just as a matter of preference. I kept adding the sugar but finally stopped at 7-1/2 cups, thinking "enough is enough." This frosting is beautiful, fluffy and elegant white and even tho' just a wee bit sweet for my tastes (others, like my husband, would disagree on that point) it tasted pretty darn good too - but keep in mind that when I make any shortening type frosting I use hi-ratio shortening, which makes an incredible difference in taste, mouth feel, consistency and stability. This is frosting I'd be quite confident to use again, even tho' it's a little different than I'm used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I made this icing for my daughters birthday cake and we loved it!! I don't bake and this was my first attempt at baking a cake, which I also got a recipe for from this site, and icing it from "scratch". I love bakery sweet cakes and that is exactly what I got from this icing. I will defiently use this recipe again! I followed the directions exactly, where it states to beat it for 5-10 minutes, I went with 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I used this to top white almond wedding cake cupcakes (found on this website). At first, I thought it was going to be too sweet as I was taste-testing it from the bowl. Once I put it on the cupcake, it was perfect. I doubled the almond extract and added one more tablespoon of water. I did not think it left a greasy feel on the roof of my mouth like others described. I will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This is an awesome recipe! I did 8 servings for a 9x13 cake. It was the perfect amount. I also tweaked it a little. I wanted a little bit stronger taste of the vanilla/almond. So i did 1 teaspoon of vanilla and 1/2 teaspoon of almond. It turned out fantastic-will definitely use this recipe again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Yum! I made this with butter, and it was just lovely. Creamy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
this was and excellent frosting to make with the cup cakes.....I'll use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Everyone raves about this icing when I use it on our cakes or cupcakes. It is the perfect white icing for wedding cakes, yet if you substitute butter-flavored icing for the shortening, you get a fantastic buttercream flavor. It does tend to separate if color is added, but I only notice the separation in the piping bags, not on the cake. It does make a lot of icing, but stores well in the refrigerator. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States