Wedding Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Tried this today...was skeptical about adding half the sugar and mixing for 5-10 minutes, but it made for a very fluffy frosting, but still spreadable. Sometimes this type icing is hard to spread, but this was great. I think it has a very good flavor and not greasy. Looks great on my son's 2-layer birthday cake with plenty to use for piping (used chocolate filling, did not use the wedding cake between layers)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
best recipe I've used for white frosting yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Tuning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Made this icing and it received raves all around. I used it on "David's Yellow Cake" found on this site. Changes I made to the recipe were: 1/2 salted butter-1/2 plain crisco 2 teaspoons real vanilla 1/2 cup milk 6 cups(2 boxes)confectioners sugar I tasted it, and it didn't leave any greasy coating in my mouth like others claimed. Will definitely use this again as it holds up well in the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Great icing. Tastes good and makes great deorations - rare combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Very good, but just a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Photo by pam
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Excellent recipe!!! This recipe makes me feel like a baker. Wouldn't change a thing. I use this recipe with the Best Rolled Sugar Cookie recipe on this site. Again, Excellent recipe!!! The taste is superb!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I didn't care for the the all shortening taste. Next time I will try with half butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I used this icing recipe for my own wedding. I didn't have almond extract so I used double vanilla. The Cake turned out wonderful, and I used it with the recipe for Heavenly Wedding Cake (recipe found on Allrecipes). Everyone really liked the cake! The recipe was easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Very sweet! Goes on easily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonenberger0512

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Ideally I'd rate this 4-1/2 stars, just short of perfect because it's just a little too sweet for me. Generally for this amount of fat, whether it's shortening or butter, I prefer a ratio of 1 cup butter or shortening to four cups of powdered sugar. This recipe was TWICE that amount of sugar, but I wanted to give it a try. I used an egg white for part of the water called for and eliminated the almond extract just as a matter of preference. I kept adding the sugar but finally stopped at 7-1/2 cups, thinking "enough is enough." This frosting is beautiful, fluffy and elegant white and even tho' just a wee bit sweet for my tastes (others, like my husband, would disagree on that point) it tasted pretty darn good too - but keep in mind that when I make any shortening type frosting I use hi-ratio shortening, which makes an incredible difference in taste, mouth feel, consistency and stability. This is frosting I'd be quite confident to use again, even tho' it's a little different than I'm used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States