Wedding Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This is a great healthy and very light icing and just enough sweetness to want more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alfitz
Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
YUM! I cut the recipe in 1/2, swapped the almond extract for Coconut Extract. I think it's great. I used it to frost a chocolate pound cake, and the coconut was subtle, but pleasant. I'll make it again, a full batch for a 2 layer round cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hebron, Indiana, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
WONDERFUL!!!! Lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope Hutchens

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livingston, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Cornelia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I have made this icing two times now, the first was okay, the second time was perfect!!! The big difference? The brand of powdered sugar! The 'okay' batch was store brand and had way too much corn starch; it was all I could taste. With 8 cups of the stuff in this recipe, picking the right powdered sugar is important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I made this for valentines day cup cakes. I used the servings table and typed in 10 servings. Didn't turn out well. Was thick runny even after adding more sugar than called for. Not a good taste either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blessed42107

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I love this recipe. I have used it a lot and will continue to use it. It gets very still and makes wonderful roses, but do not leave it uncovered for very long. I drape a wet hand towel over what I am not using to keep it moist. It is very sweet, obviously, but I have had no complaints with it. And it is very important that you mix it for the time it says. I, also, suggest investing in a Kitchenaid mixer if you will be using this recipe very much because it does get very hard to mix as you add the powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This recipe is perfect! wouldnt change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Shepard

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This icing was great, two things though, I think it is important to add a cup of confectioner's sugar at a time to guage how much you want, I was able to ice a whole two layer 9-inch cake with 5 1/3 cup sugar. Also, I subbed shortening with 1/2 crisco butter flavored shortening and 1/2 cup butter. Lastly, I think it needs a few hours to sit, I don't know if maybe this is because of my alterations to the recipe or what but the icing wasn't that great until I let it sit awhile. A few hours after I made it it was perfect and the taste wasnt as sweet as it was at first. I also switched the almond/vanilla around and did 1 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract and just 1/4 vanilla as my cake had a vanilla flavor already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Great recipe..delicious and easy to follow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I rarely rate things this low, but I found this icing to be inedible. I followed the recipe exactly; it was painfully sweet with little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I_Wanna_Bite!

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States