Wedding Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
You know those people who don't follow the recipe but then they review it anyway & maybe give it reduced ratings? Yeah. That's me right now. So I was looking for a sugary somewhat stiff frosting/icing for a cake for my boyfriends b-day and this seemed good. BUT a bunch of people were complaining about flavor, consistency & etc. So I made the following changes. Color wasn't vital to us since it wasn't for a white wedding. So I used TRIPLE the amount of vanilla extract it called for & put that amount in the 1/2 measuring cup before I put the water in to avoid too much moisture. I used ALL butter & less salt since my butter was salted. My last change was to omit the almond extract. I used C&H sugar, btw. I followed the vague instructions. Saying to "mix" but not at what setting & saying to mix for 5-10 minutes but not saying what consistency you're looking for is bad recipe writing, in my opinion. I used what felt like "logic" when deciding how to approach those two vague elements. I started out slow & creamed my butter first, then added the wet and then the dry ingredients and upped the speed to about 4 on my KitchenAid mixer. After several minutes the color got MUCH lighter (butter and dark vanilla extract made it come out a pale ivory in the end, color-wise) & MUCH more volume & fluff to it. I add the other half of powdered sugar but w/ powdered sugar "cups" are flexible so I kind of eyeballed it. My results: Very flavorful, pale, tasty frosting. He loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAINERBOY
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This is an incredible recipe! Received endless compliments....I followed the recipe to a T. No modifications. Decorating with this icing is a snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAINERBOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Maine, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was the perfect frosting! I did not have butter and some other ingredients a lot of the other frosting recipes called for. I left out the almond extract, used real vanilla extract and it came out sweet and tasty. My daughter did over mix it the second time so it was as "fluffy" as it could have been. But a keeper for sure. No reason to ever buy store bought cakes or frosting ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This recipe is WONDERFUL!!! I've been trying to find the magical white wedding cake icing recipe....... This is it...look no futher!!! Follow directions... I mix mine 10 mintues...more whippin' more fluffin'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I bake so often that I often rely on other people's reviews of the things I make to help me determine if I should make things again. My husband's mother and step-mother both said this was the best frosting they'd ever had. That's a good enough reason for me to use this forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I followed the ingredients and instructions exactly and got a stiff consistency icing. It does not taste like a wedding cake icing like those delicious wedding cakes that you ate at a wedding. It taste very sweet and plain. Disappointing! It is a good icing if you like a very sweet icing for a birthday cake or other occasion. Not for wedding. It was hard for us to finish our cakes because we are not used to very, very sweet food. (we do not eat sugary food very much, so that was why we were not used to the sweetness of the icing.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This is my favorite cake icing. It's the very sweet icing used in bakeries. My original recipe called for 1/2 t almond and 1 1/4 t white vanilla. If you like almond flavoring, you might want to make the adjustment. Also, beat 10 min on high , then 5 min on low. This makes a LOT of icing, but it keeps for 6-8 weeks in an airtight container at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Good! I only used vanilla just because that's the flavor I needed to ice my cupcakes, but I'll definitely try this again using the almond too. I'd never made an icing using water before; turned out pretty well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
LOVE THIS, THIS IS WHAT I'VE BEEN LOOKING FOR...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Did not turn out good at all, the texture was unappealing, even after I mixed it for 10 mins, and I did not care for the taste. I'm sorry, but I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States