Wedding Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Made exactly as recipe, everyone loved it. Great taste, texture. We stuck some leftover cake in frig and frosting stayed soft and wonderful days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Quick and easy to make - i added red food coloring to make it pink. Spreads nicely and evenly over the cake. I left out the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
not sure if it was me or not...I'm usually a pretty good cook...but one cup of shortening..with 8 cups of powder sugar...was a bad bad combo...first...way way way toooo sweet, second..too crumbly, I ended throwing the whole thing out, as all I could taste was powdered sugar. and instead I took 1 cup of butter flavor shortening, 1 cup of regular shortening, 6cups of powdered sugar, eyeballed some almond extract, and about 6oz of whipping cream...yummoooo :) and it set beautifully. but this was just too sweet, and hardened to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Be careful to use only 2 Tablespoons water if using margarine. Add additional water drop by drop. Margarine has a lot of water in it. We made the recipe for a wedding cake and used margarine. The result was an icing the consistency of pancake batter. We had to add another 6 cups of sugar to thicken it. It would be better to add only a little water if using margarine and then adding additional water only a drop at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WW

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
It's not what I was looking for. I thought it left a greasy feeling on the roof of my mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Love this! I use it over and over again...thank God I have a KitchenAid stand mixer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flowerdiva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LolitaGDL
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
easy to make but I have a problem coloring the icing don't know why, but I will figure it out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolitaGDL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This Icing is so easy to make! I use it all the time for my cookies and my cakes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okotoks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Very good! Have been looking for a great icing recipe so I could stop using the store bought and have finally found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Very tasty and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States