Wedding Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This is the same Recipe that my grandmother passed on to me. I've always considered it to be the best icing/frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I really like the taste of this icing, it does taste professional. Here's where I made changes, I didn't add the salt and where it calls for additional water I added a little pineapple juice at a time to get the desired taste. After I let the icing set in the fridge I put it on a pineapple cake mix (not pineapple upside down mix). It tasted like the cakes this cake baker we know used to make for our family. Also I gave it 4 stars and not 5 because I tried food coloring on some of the icing and it didn't mix well no matter how long it was mixed. Also I agree with the others that say it does taste greasy while preparing, but once it's set in the fridge, been put on the cake and your eating, it will not feel or taste that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I thought the almond was a little strong. But that could just be because of other foods I ate today. I can't imagine anyone calling this tasteless thought. It has plenty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This is a great basic white frosting recipe. It holds up well without refridgeration. It is also good for dairy/egg free allergies and vegetarians. I usually half the recipe for one batch of cupcakes or 9X13 cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Cherry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
this recipie for icing held up and it looked very nice on the cake,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather74
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Perfect, I added a little more water to make it more manageable, but other than that, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I loved this icing recipe. I used it on my 15 yr. olds b-day cake. She loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I did not like this icing at all. I followed the directions exactly, mixing very little after adding the remaining powdered sugar. The only additional mixing I did was when I stirred in some color. The icing was not stable at all and started separating, and it did not taste good either. Even my 9 and 5 year old boys, who love icing, did not eat this. At the time, it was easier for me to check online than hunting through my recipes for my usual icing, but from now on I will take the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
5+ stars, excellent, make sure to beat for at least 5 minutes, keep the almond for a true treat. I had to add 1 T water extra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I used this icing to frost and decorate my cousins wedding cake. It worked SO well and I had SO many compiments this is the only icing I use now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States