Wedding Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This is like mine except I add 1 tablespoon of meringue powder, 1 teaspoon butter flavoring, and only 1/4 teaspoon salt. I use a full 2 lb bag powdered sugar and all Crisco. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Awesome recipe! The best I have tried. The only thing I did was cut the powdered sugar down to 6 cups instead of 8. I wanted a icing not as sweet so I cut it down. And I omitted the almond extract because I wanted the vanilla flavor. But other than that it is perfect! It is pure white and perfect for a wedding cake. Will be using it more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Perfect Bakery Quality icing! loved by everyone who i've made it for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Weatherford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Perfect. Just what I wanted. I will half the recipe next time and add more almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I liked this a lot! Very simple. I used milk instead of water, and you need to add a bit more milk than water, perhaps another tablespoon or two (a note on the milk - I knew I had room in the fridge for all the cupcakes I made, but if yours are staying room temp, keep with the water. In theory, shortening, water, powdered sugar, and extract are all fine to keep at room temperature). I also put a touch more vanilla in and used butter-flavored shortening, which gave it a bit more flavor than if you used normal (though I'm sure that'd be good too!). Otherwise, didn't change anything. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I rated this as it's written because I was looking for a more classic almond wedding cake frosting and this just tasted like sugar. After I added nearly a Tbs (possibly more) almond extract it became a 6-star at least. My husband practically swooned over it. I can see it being easily modified to other flavors. It's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Pretty to look at but way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This was good, but as others have mentioned, it is VERY sweet. I thought an icing couldn't be "too" sweet but I was wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This is my favorite! I use this recipe for most of my cakes I decorate. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Followed the recipe but it was too smooth and watery. Better as a spread for pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States