Wedding Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I made this icing for my daughters birthday cake and we loved it!! I don't bake and this was my first attempt at baking a cake, which I also got a recipe for from this site, and icing it from "scratch". I love bakery sweet cakes and that is exactly what I got from this icing. I will defiently use this recipe again! I followed the directions exactly, where it states to beat it for 5-10 minutes, I went with 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I used this to top white almond wedding cake cupcakes (found on this website). At first, I thought it was going to be too sweet as I was taste-testing it from the bowl. Once I put it on the cupcake, it was perfect. I doubled the almond extract and added one more tablespoon of water. I did not think it left a greasy feel on the roof of my mouth like others described. I will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This is an awesome recipe! I did 8 servings for a 9x13 cake. It was the perfect amount. I also tweaked it a little. I wanted a little bit stronger taste of the vanilla/almond. So i did 1 teaspoon of vanilla and 1/2 teaspoon of almond. It turned out fantastic-will definitely use this recipe again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Yum! I made this with butter, and it was just lovely. Creamy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
this was and excellent frosting to make with the cup cakes.....I'll use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Everyone raves about this icing when I use it on our cakes or cupcakes. It is the perfect white icing for wedding cakes, yet if you substitute butter-flavored icing for the shortening, you get a fantastic buttercream flavor. It does tend to separate if color is added, but I only notice the separation in the piping bags, not on the cake. It does make a lot of icing, but stores well in the refrigerator. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Best butter cream icing recipe I have ever used will definetly be using again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This made a ton of icing. It tasted good and I will make it again. It wasn't my favorite icing but it is definately worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
very good will use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baskerville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
VERY pleased...it came out perfectly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Army Wife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States