Wedding Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Really good for decorating. I did not have almond...just added a little more vanilla....Still has that gross oleo taste...you can feel the lard coating your mouth...but it does a great job for decorating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Hands down the best textured and most stable frosting of all the different recipes I've tried from this site! I tried it once as it is written and it was great if you need a pure white and professional tasting icing like for an actual wedding cake. The second time I made a chocolate version. I replaced half of the shortening with margarine, eliminated the extracts, and added 1/4 cup cocoa powder. That was even better! The margarine made it creamier and more spreadable than the original. Both were great though and I feel my search is over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was perfect! I needed a thick, rich frosting for a friend who is allergic to dairy. I used butter flavored crisco and almond milk instead of water. Thanks for the instructions to mix for 5-10 mins. The consistancy was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Amazing! Halved the recipe for two 10 inch round pans. I used butter instead of shortening and it turned out great. I did add a bit extra vanilla since i had no almond extract at hand but it would have been fine without it. I'm definitely keeping this recipe for good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbfelix90

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
The icing was stiff enough that it didn't slide off the sides of the three dimensional baseball cake I made for my nephew's birthday. The sweetness, however was overpowering. I tasted the icing before I added the second bag of confectioner's suger and it was really good. I wish I'd stopped there actually. I ended up having to add a good deal of milk to thin it out. So, it decorates well but the suger will make your teeth hurt. Three and a half stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This is the easiest icing recipe ever!! Truely a nice light,not too sweet icing.I didnt have almond extract so used only vanilla. Turned out perfect. I have to agree it makes alot of icing.Stores easily. Tastes fantasic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I have been making a similar icing since I was young - I divide the 1 cup shortening and use 1/2 c shortening and 1/2 c butter and substitute milk for water - this icing is so popular people request it and my kids eat it with a spoon - I make all our family cakes with this - great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Tried this today...was skeptical about adding half the sugar and mixing for 5-10 minutes, but it made for a very fluffy frosting, but still spreadable. Sometimes this type icing is hard to spread, but this was great. I think it has a very good flavor and not greasy. Looks great on my son's 2-layer birthday cake with plenty to use for piping (used chocolate filling, did not use the wedding cake between layers)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
best recipe I've used for white frosting yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Tuning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Made this icing and it received raves all around. I used it on "David's Yellow Cake" found on this site. Changes I made to the recipe were: 1/2 salted butter-1/2 plain crisco 2 teaspoons real vanilla 1/2 cup milk 6 cups(2 boxes)confectioners sugar I tasted it, and it didn't leave any greasy coating in my mouth like others claimed. Will definitely use this again as it holds up well in the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States