Wedding Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I followed the ingredients and instructions exactly and got a stiff consistency icing. It does not taste like a wedding cake icing like those delicious wedding cakes that you ate at a wedding. It taste very sweet and plain. Disappointing! It is a good icing if you like a very sweet icing for a birthday cake or other occasion. Not for wedding. It was hard for us to finish our cakes because we are not used to very, very sweet food. (we do not eat sugary food very much, so that was why we were not used to the sweetness of the icing.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This is my favorite cake icing. It's the very sweet icing used in bakeries. My original recipe called for 1/2 t almond and 1 1/4 t white vanilla. If you like almond flavoring, you might want to make the adjustment. Also, beat 10 min on high , then 5 min on low. This makes a LOT of icing, but it keeps for 6-8 weeks in an airtight container at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Good! I only used vanilla just because that's the flavor I needed to ice my cupcakes, but I'll definitely try this again using the almond too. I'd never made an icing using water before; turned out pretty well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
LOVE THIS, THIS IS WHAT I'VE BEEN LOOKING FOR...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Did not turn out good at all, the texture was unappealing, even after I mixed it for 10 mins, and I did not care for the taste. I'm sorry, but I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Great recipe! I loved it! Better than the cupcakes I made! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I loved this recipe, especially the addition of the almond extract which you don't find often. I didn't use the electric mixer but was able hand mix it to a nice, shiny consistency. I added a couple of tablespoons less water and couple of tablespoons of corn syrup for shine at the very end of mixing. Looked good, was easy to use to decorate a giant cookie for my daughters and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
this icing worked great for the birthday cake i made!! i definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Followed the recipe as written. I found this icing very time consuming and had diffuculty getting it to the right consistency. Very disappointed in the results. Could not get the icing smooth on my cake, and I have done that before easily with other frostings. Tasted all right, but not great. I will be a bit embarrassed by the way my cake looks, but I don'[t have time to redo it. Will never use again and don't recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
The Icing turned out so fabulous! I am keeping this recipe forever! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States