Wedding Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This icing recipe is perfect!! This was exactly what I was looking for. I used non-hydrogenated shortening and pure vanilla, those were the only 2 things I did differently. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Tried this for the first time while making my neices wedding cake, not bad a bit sweet, and I cut the powdered sugar by a 1/4 of a cup to make it easier to spread. We will see what the wedding guests think...............:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Wonderful icing and very easy. Simply love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
We made our own wedding cake with this frosting. We used butter flavor shortening. The frosting was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This was a very good white icing recipe. I didn't try it with the cocoa powder. It was REALLY sweet though, just as the other reviews have said. I don't know that the milk really did much, but that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Excellent! Taste was much better than the basic butter cream recipe given at cake class. The texture was great for decorating, though I did also use it to frost the cake with a little extra water. This will definitely be my staple recipe. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
The recipe doesn't tell you what speed to "mix" it on so I'm not sure mine came out right/wrong. The icing was okay; a little to sweet even for my taste and I usually like sweet icing. I will try it again with a few changes to see if I get the same results. Thanks for sharing though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
You know those people who don't follow the recipe but then they review it anyway & maybe give it reduced ratings? Yeah. That's me right now. So I was looking for a sugary somewhat stiff frosting/icing for a cake for my boyfriends b-day and this seemed good. BUT a bunch of people were complaining about flavor, consistency & etc. So I made the following changes. Color wasn't vital to us since it wasn't for a white wedding. So I used TRIPLE the amount of vanilla extract it called for & put that amount in the 1/2 measuring cup before I put the water in to avoid too much moisture. I used ALL butter & less salt since my butter was salted. My last change was to omit the almond extract. I used C&H sugar, btw. I followed the vague instructions. Saying to "mix" but not at what setting & saying to mix for 5-10 minutes but not saying what consistency you're looking for is bad recipe writing, in my opinion. I used what felt like "logic" when deciding how to approach those two vague elements. I started out slow & creamed my butter first, then added the wet and then the dry ingredients and upped the speed to about 4 on my KitchenAid mixer. After several minutes the color got MUCH lighter (butter and dark vanilla extract made it come out a pale ivory in the end, color-wise) & MUCH more volume & fluff to it. I add the other half of powdered sugar but w/ powdered sugar "cups" are flexible so I kind of eyeballed it. My results: Very flavorful, pale, tasty frosting. He loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAINERBOY
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This is an incredible recipe! Received endless compliments....I followed the recipe to a T. No modifications. Decorating with this icing is a snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAINERBOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Maine, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was the perfect frosting! I did not have butter and some other ingredients a lot of the other frosting recipes called for. I left out the almond extract, used real vanilla extract and it came out sweet and tasty. My daughter did over mix it the second time so it was as "fluffy" as it could have been. But a keeper for sure. No reason to ever buy store bought cakes or frosting ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States