Wedding Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Followed the recipe but it was too smooth and watery. Better as a spread for pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This icing ruined my cake and I had to buy a cake to save the party. This does not have the texture or the look of a wedding cake. I made this recipe for my daughters birthday. The taste was good, but I couldn't get the icing to do what I wanted. I followed the directions to the letter. After a few minutes it just started breaking down and sliding. I added more sugar to stiffen it, but that didn't work. I even refrigerated it to work with it. Total waste of my supplies. Will not use this icing again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This recipe was just ok. It works fine for what it is - plain frosting. For some reason after I made this I couldn't help but notice a strong taste of shortening. This recipe is arguably a bit better than what I could get in the store can, but I think what I'm searching for is more of a buttercream. I will keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This icing recipe is perfect!! This was exactly what I was looking for. I used non-hydrogenated shortening and pure vanilla, those were the only 2 things I did differently. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Tried this for the first time while making my neices wedding cake, not bad a bit sweet, and I cut the powdered sugar by a 1/4 of a cup to make it easier to spread. We will see what the wedding guests think...............:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Wonderful icing and very easy. Simply love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
We made our own wedding cake with this frosting. We used butter flavor shortening. The frosting was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This was a very good white icing recipe. I didn't try it with the cocoa powder. It was REALLY sweet though, just as the other reviews have said. I don't know that the milk really did much, but that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Excellent! Taste was much better than the basic butter cream recipe given at cake class. The texture was great for decorating, though I did also use it to frost the cake with a little extra water. This will definitely be my staple recipe. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
The recipe doesn't tell you what speed to "mix" it on so I'm not sure mine came out right/wrong. The icing was okay; a little to sweet even for my taste and I usually like sweet icing. I will try it again with a few changes to see if I get the same results. Thanks for sharing though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States