Wedding Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
I recently tried the recipe for a wedding cake and it was positively wonderful. I used crisco and as recommended butter. The trick to not having greasy frosting is to whip the crisco and butter for at least 20 mins or until it is light and fluffy. I also added additional vanilla flavor and almond flavor for a richer taste. My recipe was modified to cover a cake that would serve 40 people. I had nothing but continous compliments and serveral request to make more cakes. Thanks Jeannie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
314 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I used this (with a few alterations) to ice my parent's 50th wedding anniversary cake. I used salted butter and I also used evap. milk. I went with other suggestions to use less sugar (6 cups was best for our taste). This was so easy to make and it had wonderful buttercream flavor! Had enough to add raspberry glaze to it and made a raspberry buttercream filling for the French Vanilla anniversary cake. Was great for piping decorations and borders also. Highly recommended for those looking for a GREAT buttercream frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
I used this icing for my Mom's wedding cake this weekend, and everyone complimented on it. I took other reviewers advice and whipped the butter and shortening for 10 minutes, and it had none of the greasy taste of shortening. Also, if you use the butter flavored Crisco, the frosting will turn out very yellow-unsuitable for a wedding cake. I stopped at 4 cups of sugar for the main icing and then added one cup to the remining frosting for the piping. It tasted great, looked professional, and held up well at an outdoor wedding. If I even find myself doing another wedding cake (heaven forbid), I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I am also a big fan of Rick's Buttercream and use it as "my" frosting, but wanted to give this one a try. I was worried when mixing it up that it would be too soft for piping but it was fine. Note that this will yield more of an ivory frosting due to the butter, you won't get a pure white frosting. I definitely prefer the flavor of this frosting using butter as opposed to frosting in the Rick's Buttercream. I will use this one when I don't need it to be pure white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Great frosting! I used about 6 cups of sugar instead of the 8 called for. And, I beat the shortening and butter for about 20 minutes before adding the other ingredients. It turned out great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This recipe is very similar to the one i use currently. I add a tsp of popcorn salt (or very fine salt) to take the sweetness off a bit. I also add an additional 4 cups of confesctioners sugar to stiffen it for piping decorations i.e. roses, leaves etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton City, Hamilton City, Bermuda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I picked this recipe because it seemed really easy to make and it was my first attempt at buttercream icing. The result was awesome!! Very easy to make and I received so many compliments! I had enough icing to cover a birthday cake and 20 cupcakes. I creamed the butter and shortening for 20 minutes like a previous reviewer suggested. I didn't use all the sugar that the recipe called for because when I got to 6 cups I stopped and did a taste test, perfect for my taste(20 servings). This recipe will be used over and over and over again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This was fantastic! It makes a lot.. I halfed the recipe and it covered 24 cupcakes and 1 8inch round and there was still leftovers.. It was out of this world-- I would definately use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
I made this recipe to decorate my son's birthday cake. It was great. It was very easy to make and use. I only made half a recipe and had enough for the whole cake and piping. This recipe held up extremely well. It didn't melt or run. This recipe was also very yummy. I put it on a chocolate cake and it covered it very well and you didn't see the brown. Everyone loved it a big hit that not only looked great but tasted great also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I am SO glad I tried this before putting it on a wedding cake. AWFUL! Wouldn't make this tasteless stuff again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States