Wedding Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I wanted a softer frosting for cup cakes I halved the recipe, and then used only 2 cups of powdered sugar, and didn't have to use any milk and it was great, I did make sure to beat the shortening and butter together until they were light and fluffy like the other reviews said. I had 2 dozen cupcakes and more than enough frosting for all of them. If I had wanted a stiffer frosting for piping I could have used more powdered sugar, with excellent results. Thank you for a great buttercream frosting recipe, I will definately use this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Delicious frosting that was easy to make, took coloring well, and held up well to piping and decorating. It had a nice flavor that was sweet but not too sweet (made exactly as directed with half butter, half shortening that I blended for approx 15-20 mins before adding sugar to get nice and fluffy) and complimented the strawberry cake I used it on very well. will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelkel4now

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Tastes Great! Easy to make and easy to use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Very good. I wasn't sure about the shortening but I took the tip to cream the butter and sugar together before adding the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amamarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linden, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This frosting is amazing! This was my first attempt at making homemade frosting and I am very impressed with the results. The only thing I changed was, I added a few tablespoons of amaretto in place of some of the milk since I was frosting and Italian Amaretto Cream cake I made for my Father-in-laws 50th. My 4 year old and I couldn't stop dipping in for a taste :-) For me, this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AllCutieWants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This was great. I have children with multiple allergies and I made this with Vegan Butter, and Rice Milk and it still tastes great. Perfect with their cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: University Place, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I have definately had better buttercream. I did improve it by using raspberries and a cup of sugar and 1/4 water to make syrup. Let it cool and poured into the frosting. Had a beautiful fresh raspberry flavor. Husband enjoyed it. I didn't really like it on its own but great for a base of adding fresh fruit flavors to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaMack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Far too much shortening in this recipe, it was not delicious at all :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Schurrer-Maro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie C
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I would like to be able to give this a 4 1/2, it has a very good flavor, but I had to cut the milk in half and even when I did that I added an extra 1/2 cup to a cup of the confectioners sugar. I did need a bit of a thicker consistency though because I was piping this on to cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I really liked this frosting, it was light, delicious, and very easy to spread. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception that I used almond extract instead of vanilla and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitly Poo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: West Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States