Wedding Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This is a great icing, especially if you plan on piping the icing. It holds up really well. I did think there was a bit too much sugar for my taste, but you can easily reduce that like other reviewers suggest. I wanted to make a chocolate buttercream for my little sister's birthday, so I added a box of instant chocolate pudding to the icing a a 1/4 cup of baking cocoa (so it's not too sweet). This gave the icing a very nice chocolate flavor and still stiff enough for piping but soft enough to spread easily on a cake or cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavy metal in the kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This turned out good. It was a nice consistancy and had a good flavor. But, I could taste something a little off, maybe too much shortening. I used pure vanilla and the frosting was still very white. I might add less sugar next time as others suggested and maybe less shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This worked really well for me! I let the butter and criso whip for about 20 minutes as was suggested. I only added 1/2 the amount of milk but included 1/2 cup strawberry puree. It was delicious. I put it on top of cupcakes baked in ice cream cups and it was perfect! The frosting tasted a little like strawberry ice cream. I had a ton left over... and have been eating it with a spoon since then. Also, I was worried it was too soft, and wouldn't set up, but it set up very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
So good! I used 1 t. vanilla & 1 t. almond. I also beat it in my kitchen aid on high speed for 15-20 minutes. It really gives it the "bakery frosting" texture. I brought the extra frosting to work and my co-workers were eating it with spoons! It's that good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I used this on cookies, and it tasted great! My whole family loved it! As a plus, it saved in the fridge for weeks and still tasted good! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I made this but used all butter and no shortening. I had no shortening and didn't want to make a run to town. I also only used 5 cups of powdered sugar. I frosted the cakes (2 9 x 13's) and had lots of frosting left to pipe with. Even after that I still had leftover frosting. I will use again, but maybe cut down the serving size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGBOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I just made the heavenly white cake with this frosting for my son's first birthday cake. I decorated it with M&Ms but the frosting was WAY too sweet. Perhaps I would try it with half the amount of sugar...I was happy with how firm the frosting came out and how easy it was to spread on to the cake but it was so sweet I didn't even want to save the rest of it. 4 stars for firmness + 2 stars for flavor = average score of 3 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Wow! This is fantastic frosting. I used butter flavored shortening and added about 2oz more milk to make it a bit creamier and softer. This is, by far, the greatest tasting frosting I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florida Chef Stan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Taste Great, held up great, Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Do not even think this will be "greasy" tasting. It is the most perfect icing to decorate a cake. It is absolutely the best for coconut cake. Darn foolproof!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States