Wedding Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Rheena
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
First time I tried a buttercream frosting and it was a hit! I follow the other reviewers' advice to lessen the sugar and it perfect suit our taste. Though I was opted to make some slight changes since I couldnt find shortening...so I used salted butter instead as suggested by another reviewer. Thanks for the recipe...will definitely use this again. Though the color isn't pure white, I think I could still use this for my aunt's wedding cupcakes. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rheena

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by froggy0004
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Doing a wedding cake in two weeks and just did a mock up version, This recipes is great. I used evaporated milk instead and also only used five C of sugar and it was a hit with my family. I also let the cake sit out for seven hours and the frosting has not run and the cake still looks good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by froggy0004

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by poptart1
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Tasted amazing but definately runny... I let the butter soften though... perhaps that was my mistake. Took fairly well to coloring gels. Although i had to use a whole thing of red for it to be red and then it tasted bad....all the other colors of frosting i made were amazing though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poptart1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaay
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This is a definite crowd pleaser, it's basically my go-to decorator buttercream recipe, but on a larger scale. It also works to use water in place of the milk, the taste isn't altered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Excellent! SOOOO much better than my usual buttercream recipe! I will be sticking to this one! I made it as stated and beat the butter and shortening for 20 minutes! Also, added 7 cups of confectioner's sugar. It's SOO smooth! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Used the ingredients for 1/2 the recipe and it came out scrumptious with plenty to cover a double layer 9" round cake. It is important to whip the butter and shortening real well before adding alternately and in small portions the milk, sugar and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
To sweet for my liking... all i could taste was the shortening. It might have been the typed I use. But it was not good... I'm not much of a sweet person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Wow! I finally made my own frosting that turned out correctly, I'm horrible at making frosting, I used the previous suggestion of creaming the butter and shortening for awhile, then I gradually added the sugar. then the vanilla and slowly added the milk, the only difference I did was to add a heaping spoonful of sourcream before adding the vanilla, which made it so I needed an extra cup of sugar and 1/8 cup of milk but it turned out tasting wonderful and with a fluffy texture. yum! No more store bought frosting for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Yummy! I made a coconut cake for my daughter's birthday. I used this frosting, substituting 1 cup of solid coconut cream for the shortening, and coconut extract for the vanilla, then added flaked coconut and it was sooooo good. It si going in my family cookbook for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bglowacz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Best Wedding Cake Frosting recipe I've found. I search and tried numerous recipes for months. My sister in law had decided I would make her wedding cake. She wanted an autumn theme. So the way I made this recipe was to use buttered shortening and regular pure vanilla extract in place of the original recommended ingredients. It not only was as it delicious as the original recipe but held up well. Her wedding was in the desert and the Frosting never melted or softened. The color was perfect also. She then had a separate reception two weeks later and I made a three tier Wedding Cake and the Frosting held well throughout the entire evening. The cake was beautiful, and the frosting was delicious. Guest kept coming up and asking if I was a professional cake baker and wanted to hire me....This Frosting Recipe comes out perfect every time.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States