Wedding Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by poptart1
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Tasted amazing but definately runny... I let the butter soften though... perhaps that was my mistake. Took fairly well to coloring gels. Although i had to use a whole thing of red for it to be red and then it tasted bad....all the other colors of frosting i made were amazing though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poptart1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaay
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This is a definite crowd pleaser, it's basically my go-to decorator buttercream recipe, but on a larger scale. It also works to use water in place of the milk, the taste isn't altered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Excellent! SOOOO much better than my usual buttercream recipe! I will be sticking to this one! I made it as stated and beat the butter and shortening for 20 minutes! Also, added 7 cups of confectioner's sugar. It's SOO smooth! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Used the ingredients for 1/2 the recipe and it came out scrumptious with plenty to cover a double layer 9" round cake. It is important to whip the butter and shortening real well before adding alternately and in small portions the milk, sugar and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
To sweet for my liking... all i could taste was the shortening. It might have been the typed I use. But it was not good... I'm not much of a sweet person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Wow! I finally made my own frosting that turned out correctly, I'm horrible at making frosting, I used the previous suggestion of creaming the butter and shortening for awhile, then I gradually added the sugar. then the vanilla and slowly added the milk, the only difference I did was to add a heaping spoonful of sourcream before adding the vanilla, which made it so I needed an extra cup of sugar and 1/8 cup of milk but it turned out tasting wonderful and with a fluffy texture. yum! No more store bought frosting for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Yummy! I made a coconut cake for my daughter's birthday. I used this frosting, substituting 1 cup of solid coconut cream for the shortening, and coconut extract for the vanilla, then added flaked coconut and it was sooooo good. It si going in my family cookbook for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bglowacz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Best Wedding Cake Frosting recipe I've found. I search and tried numerous recipes for months. My sister in law had decided I would make her wedding cake. She wanted an autumn theme. So the way I made this recipe was to use buttered shortening and regular pure vanilla extract in place of the original recommended ingredients. It not only was as it delicious as the original recipe but held up well. Her wedding was in the desert and the Frosting never melted or softened. The color was perfect also. She then had a separate reception two weeks later and I made a three tier Wedding Cake and the Frosting held well throughout the entire evening. The cake was beautiful, and the frosting was delicious. Guest kept coming up and asking if I was a professional cake baker and wanted to hire me....This Frosting Recipe comes out perfect every time.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was a good frosting and I will make again. I gave it four stars because it was initially way to soft for decorating. After refridgeration it was a good consistancy. I halved the recipie and maybe I should add the milk a little at a time. I also think it needed more vanilla. I will make again with those changes because it was a very good amount for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Use REAL vanilla!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States