Wedding Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This recipe is a classic - so easy and so good! Will make again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Photo by tiff_7_17
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Made exactly as directed, great frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiff_7_17

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gcheaddress
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
My cake is the HAPPY BIRTHDAY NOELA cake posted pic. Very good and easy to make. I ddint really change much just the amount of shortening I used. I used 1 cup butter, and 1/2 cup shortening. I measured 6 cups of powdered sugar, but then just mixed in what I needed until I like the consistancy. I also added almond flavor instead of vanilla, just cos thats how she likes it. I used electric mixer to fluff it up. My mother in law raved about her birthday cake as did my family. I liked it so much Im gonna use this recipe for my daughters 16th birthday in a few week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gcheaddress
Home Town: Poplar, Montana, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
If I could give this ten stars I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarot Witch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Really liked this recipe. I didn't have any milk so I used 1/2 & 1/2 and only had regular vanilla but it was fine. I actually didn't like it until the next day. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPCOCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I've tried several recipes in the past, this is not one of my favorites. I made a double batch, and stopped after 9 cups of sugar. I followed the advice of reviewers and mixed the butter and fat for 10 mins. I added literally a splash of water because it already looked so soft. The texture is something akin to whipped cream. It forms soft peaks at best. Like all shortening-based frosting, this leaves a feeling like there's a coating in your mouth. It is NOT a crusting buttercream. I'm sure it would have thickened up if I'd added more sugar but it would have been unbearably sweet. This is for a wedding cake; luckily it's NOT an outdoor wedding and it does not require ornate piping. Won't use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This is a very good recipe for what I affectionately call it- lard icing (as opposed to buttercreme or the whipped creme kind). I made a big discovery here...a box of confectioner sugar is 16oz, but that does not equate to 2cups in a box. There is more in there! So, mine came out too sweet and may be the pb. some of the others are having. One box is more the right amount for a typical sheet or double layer, of course more if you are using it for decorating also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALOUONIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This frosting is light, fluffy and delicious, and very easy to work with. After reading the other reviews I added the sugar 1 cup at a time until it was just the right sweetness for my taste, 6 cups was good for me. It did melt a bit in the mid day heat, so I had to decorate quickly and the refrigerate until serving time. I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rheena
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
First time I tried a buttercream frosting and it was a hit! I follow the other reviewers' advice to lessen the sugar and it perfect suit our taste. Though I was opted to make some slight changes since I couldnt find shortening...so I used salted butter instead as suggested by another reviewer. Thanks for the recipe...will definitely use this again. Though the color isn't pure white, I think I could still use this for my aunt's wedding cupcakes. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rheena

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by froggy0004
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Doing a wedding cake in two weeks and just did a mock up version, This recipes is great. I used evaporated milk instead and also only used five C of sugar and it was a hit with my family. I also let the cake sit out for seven hours and the frosting has not run and the cake still looks good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by froggy0004

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States