Wedding Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This was absolutely delicious! I used skim milk but was a little concerned that would make it a little too runny, but it turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly and loved it. My non-cake eating husband loved it as well! I will used it always.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I made this icing for a test cake that I made for my bridal shower on the weekend. I am going to be making my own wedding cake and wanted to test it out first. This icing was delicious and I made it as directed except that I used vanilla extract and not clear artificial vanilla extract. It just didn't come out very white, which is fine with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Image this frosting for a birthday cake and it was wonderful. It seems light and has a great flavor. Everyone had compliments for it and my husband said it tasted like what his mom made ( she is an amazing cook ). Will use it from now on. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Made this last weekend, it is fantastic! I made it exactly like it says, I mixed it for about 15 minutes and it was not greasy, it was lite and just sweet enough. My son said the best part of the cake was the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Overall an average recipe. The sugar needs to be cut way down and all tat butter and shortening make it very greasy unless you beat them together for a good 15-20 min as was said in previous posts. For all the trouble I don't see myself making this recipe again, I think I'll stick with cream cheese frostings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This is my go-to frosting for large quantities of cupcakes. I only used 3 cups of powdered sugar on these cupcakes and 3 tablespoons of whipping cream. With the very rich chocolate cake (Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake) is was perfect smooth and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This is the first icing that I tested out for an upcoming wedding cake that I'm baking in several weeks. It's absolutely delicious. Everyone who tried it loved it, I'm definitely going to use it for THE cake. I followed the recipe completely with no alterations and it turned out fine, it was also very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Scaled down to 10 servings. I did not use all of the sugar recommended as I felt it was way too much. I suggest you add half the sugar and then taste the frosting as you add more in 1/2 cup measurements. I also added a dash of salt to take the edge off the sugar and balance the frosting out. I used home made vanilla extract and bourbon in place of the milk. Delicious on a spice cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Amazing recipe. I only used half of the listed sugar. Any sweeter would have been too much for me. I also "eyeballed" the milk just adding until I had the consistency I needed. The key is absolutely to beat the butter (real butter) and Crisco for 20 minutes on one of the higher speeds. This piped wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States