Wedding Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2000
Easy to make. Remains durable on the cake...doesn't melt, soak in, or run off of the cake. Not as creamy as I'd hoped when reading the title of the recipe. More like a "Mom's homemade frosting" than wedding cake frosting. Very sugary, but not overwhelming. Kids would probably like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2000
I loved this recipe! I decorate wedding cakes all the time and this recipe does not taste greasy and is very easy to work with. It is a little sweet so I would start with maybe 4 cups of sugar and add a cup at a time until you find the the level of sugar you are comfortable with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
This frosting is easy to work with and tastes great! I get tons of compliments on my cakes when I use this recipe. Takes almost no time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I am SO glad I tried this before putting it on a wedding cake. AWFUL! Wouldn't make this tasteless stuff again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
I made this recipe to decorate my son's birthday cake. It was great. It was very easy to make and use. I only made half a recipe and had enough for the whole cake and piping. This recipe held up extremely well. It didn't melt or run. This recipe was also very yummy. I put it on a chocolate cake and it covered it very well and you didn't see the brown. Everyone loved it a big hit that not only looked great but tasted great also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
way too sweet! Wanted something with a fuller flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Windsor, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
This is definitely wedding cake frosting. It was good, but since I was going to put it on a strawberry cake I decided to mix the strawberry glaze (that was suggested with the strawberry cake recipe) and it came out really good. I was having trouble getting the strawberry glaze to thicken up enough, but when I mixed it with this recipeI didn't have any problem at all. More than likely I will use this combination again. Everyone at church just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
I'm not much of a cake fan, but I prepared this frosting to use with "Happy Birthday Cake" from the allrecipes.com website. In fact, it was a perfect match. I'm not enough of a frosting connoisseur to know how closely this recipe compares to that found at the bakery, but it tasted close enough for me. I can't imagine how sweet this would have tasted with the eight cups of sugar that it calls for. Following other reviewer's recommendations, I only used 4 1/2 to 5 cups of sugar, and that was a great plenty. It got rave reviews from my wife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
This recipe is great. I used less sugar so it wasn't too sweet. I also used evaporated milk and the frosting had a great, rich flavor. Since I used the evap milk, I had to compromise on the white color. I never liked buttercream frosting but now that I know what the "real thing" tastes like, I am a convert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
I recently tried the recipe for a wedding cake and it was positively wonderful. I used crisco and as recommended butter. The trick to not having greasy frosting is to whip the crisco and butter for at least 20 mins or until it is light and fluffy. I also added additional vanilla flavor and almond flavor for a richer taste. My recipe was modified to cover a cake that would serve 40 people. I had nothing but continous compliments and serveral request to make more cakes. Thanks Jeannie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
314 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States