Wedding Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I have tried buttercream frosting after buttercream frosting to match what I taste on the outside. But alas, I find them way too sweet! I cut this sugar in half and still found it still too sweet and the icing looked really shiny like shortening, which didn't matter so much since it was being covered with fondat. The search continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
WOW! I am so impressed with this frosting! I made it exactly as written with the exception of "white" ingredients (i.e., vanilla and shortening). I did have shortening, but it's butter flavored (the only kind I buy) and so the frosting didn't turn out white. BUT WHO CARES?! I was going for taste, not look. I handed a beater to my husband and his eyes about popped out of his head because he loved it so much! My only qualm is that this makes A LOT of frosting... I mean A LOT. So, I'll use what I need for a birthday cake and then tomorrow I'll whip up a spice cake, add a little cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice to the frosting and use some there. I still think that I'll have some left and if I do, I'll probably add some lemon extract and yellow food coloring and put it on a lemon cake and give it to the neighbors! Next time I think I might scale it down a bit. Overall... easy, fast, wondeful texture, tasty and holds up well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Erie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This is a great icing, especially if you plan on piping the icing. It holds up really well. I did think there was a bit too much sugar for my taste, but you can easily reduce that like other reviewers suggest. I wanted to make a chocolate buttercream for my little sister's birthday, so I added a box of instant chocolate pudding to the icing a a 1/4 cup of baking cocoa (so it's not too sweet). This gave the icing a very nice chocolate flavor and still stiff enough for piping but soft enough to spread easily on a cake or cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavy metal in the kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This turned out good. It was a nice consistancy and had a good flavor. But, I could taste something a little off, maybe too much shortening. I used pure vanilla and the frosting was still very white. I might add less sugar next time as others suggested and maybe less shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This worked really well for me! I let the butter and criso whip for about 20 minutes as was suggested. I only added 1/2 the amount of milk but included 1/2 cup strawberry puree. It was delicious. I put it on top of cupcakes baked in ice cream cups and it was perfect! The frosting tasted a little like strawberry ice cream. I had a ton left over... and have been eating it with a spoon since then. Also, I was worried it was too soft, and wouldn't set up, but it set up very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
So good! I used 1 t. vanilla & 1 t. almond. I also beat it in my kitchen aid on high speed for 15-20 minutes. It really gives it the "bakery frosting" texture. I brought the extra frosting to work and my co-workers were eating it with spoons! It's that good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I used this on cookies, and it tasted great! My whole family loved it! As a plus, it saved in the fridge for weeks and still tasted good! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I made this but used all butter and no shortening. I had no shortening and didn't want to make a run to town. I also only used 5 cups of powdered sugar. I frosted the cakes (2 9 x 13's) and had lots of frosting left to pipe with. Even after that I still had leftover frosting. I will use again, but maybe cut down the serving size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Angie Bodholdt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I just made the heavenly white cake with this frosting for my son's first birthday cake. I decorated it with M&Ms but the frosting was WAY too sweet. Perhaps I would try it with half the amount of sugar...I was happy with how firm the frosting came out and how easy it was to spread on to the cake but it was so sweet I didn't even want to save the rest of it. 4 stars for firmness + 2 stars for flavor = average score of 3 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Wow! This is fantastic frosting. I used butter flavored shortening and added about 2oz more milk to make it a bit creamier and softer. This is, by far, the greatest tasting frosting I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florida Chef Stan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States