Wedding Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was a good frosting and I will make again. I gave it four stars because it was initially way to soft for decorating. After refridgeration it was a good consistancy. I halved the recipie and maybe I should add the milk a little at a time. I also think it needed more vanilla. I will make again with those changes because it was a very good amount for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Use REAL vanilla!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This recipe is fantastic! Cream crisco and butter well (few minutes) before adding sugar. I too add a little popcorn salt. Add PS one cup at a time and incorporate well with each cup. Use all 8 cups! Then, begin adding milk to your desired consistency. It's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by three-peas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This frosting was THE BOMB!!!!! It is now the only frosting I use and my kids love licking the bowl. It really compliments any kind of cake, whether it's chocolate, white, or even yellow! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I found that adding butter makes it melt. I used it for my Senior Project. I added butter and it didn't come out the way I wanted it to. I wanted it fluffy but w/ butter it doesn't make it fluffy it makes it melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaRodriguez
Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA
Living In: Monroe, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I was looking for an all white frosting and found this one. As with any recipe I scaled the ingredients one by one to my family's own personal taste. I used 1 1/4 C. Crisco, 3/4 C. Butter ( less to ensure I got white frosting), Dropped the Milk to 2 tsp.( wanted a thick frosting but spreadable) and the Confectioners' sugar to 3 C. Originally, tried 4 C. but was still way to sweet. As recommended by another viewer I whipped the Crisco and Butter individually and then together. If I could rate the reviewers it would be 5 stars based on their advice however, I feel that something has been omitted in the recipe and rate it a "3".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dela Blank
Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I liked the texture and flavor achieved by using both shortening and butter. As I always do with frostings calling for shortening, I used hi-ratio shortening which is far superior to the grocery store variety. I also added 1/4 tsp. salt to heighten flavor. I didn't measure the milk, just added it little by little until I had the consistency I wanted for piping onto cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Excellent and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
this recipe was great. I would recomend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I liked the taste - that was really good. But I didn't care for the stiffness. I actually used this for a wedding cake that I was testing out. I couldn't create a smooth finish with this loose a consistency. And I certainly couldn't make flowers. I ended up adding some seedless raspberry jam and using it for filling on another cake. In the end, I would possibly make this frosting again, but would never use it for any decorated cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States