Wedding Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Excellent recipe!!! I used it to frost cookies and cream cupcakes and it was a HUGE hit! Thanks to the reviewers who suggested beating the butter and shortening for 10-20 minutes, that really made the difference in taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kendra
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I basically just halved this recipe and used all butter and no shortening. I used 3/4 cup butter, 4 cups powdered sugar, 1 tbsp vanilla bean paste, and 4-6 tbsp heavy cream. Perfect topping for my vanilla bean cupcakes. =) The heavy cream makes the icing light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
this is a perfect frosting that gets lots of compliments...I use water instead of milk, adding a little at a time and beating well each time...makes it even lighter...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Really good frosting. I halved the recipe, which was exactly the amount I needed for 20 cupcakes. I used it for the "Sweetheart Cupcakes" (from this site), piping it on in a big swirl. I followed others' advice about beating the butter and shortening for approximately 20 minutes. Others have said how sweet this frosting is - and boy, is it ever sweet - but in my opinion, that's what frosting is. I didn't use the clear extract, and the frosting still came out very white. I will definitely use this again as it was so easy to make and work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I had tried this recipe years ago and have adapted to something just a bit tastier. I use one can of store bought frosting, 1 cup of shortning, 3 teaspoons of "cream of boquet" and 1 of almond extract plus the called for sugar. It turns out very flavorable and stands up well for the 3 tier wedding cake I had to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Heavy and greasy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
The only white buttercream frosting I will ever use. Was a big hit at my daughter's wedding shower on the *Brownie Batter + Cupcake=The Second Best Cupcake* recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This was the best frosting for my needs yet. Got lots of compliments. I make all my grandkids' birthday cakes and this frosting held up very well, easy to work with and tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilee Cutler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Good enough to eat, but nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irish Momma 6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
i was worried this was going to be too sweet, so I took the suggestions of previous reviewers. I doubled the shortening, used 1/4 c milk, and 5 cups of confectioners' sugar. I also added 1/2 tsp alm extract. This turned out really light, not too sweet, and "this tastes like wedding cake frosting" (a comment from my husband who wasn't sure what i was trying to accomplish :) I'll use this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Peterson Brand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States