Wedding Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Scaled down to 10 servings. I did not use all of the sugar recommended as I felt it was way too much. I suggest you add half the sugar and then taste the frosting as you add more in 1/2 cup measurements. I also added a dash of salt to take the edge off the sugar and balance the frosting out. I used home made vanilla extract and bourbon in place of the milk. Delicious on a spice cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Amazing recipe. I only used half of the listed sugar. Any sweeter would have been too much for me. I also "eyeballed" the milk just adding until I had the consistency I needed. The key is absolutely to beat the butter (real butter) and Crisco for 20 minutes on one of the higher speeds. This piped wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carole sue
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I made this for my daughters tiered birthday cake. Tasted wonderful, lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I've made several variations on this frosting over the years. In the summer I will use all shortening so it doesn't melt. I also like to double the vanilla extract (and add almond) to make it extra tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by CookandBakeGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Wow this really good! I used 9 cups of powdered sugar. I beat the shortening and butter for 15 min and that helped a lot!! Very good:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookandBakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Imperial, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Simply amazing! Light and fluffy took other's advice and beat butter and shortening for a min. of 10 min. For decorations like roses do not add the full 1/2 c. of milk makes the frosting too runny otherwise it was perfect!! For filling between layers I added crushed Oreo's again simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMPOWERS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Better than Wilton's creamy and perfect. If I could give a 10 I'd give a 10. Suggest using unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This frosting is amazing and if you whip the shortening and butter long enough, Is super light and fluffy. I used it for a small three tier wedding cake with just one batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha Jones
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I made this frosting yesterday to top the Wedding Cake recipe. I followed the recipe but stopped at 4 cups confectioner's sugar and frosted a 1/2 sheet cake. It makes a very tasty frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Delicious! This frosting always turns out great!! Only thing I do different is beat the shortening and butter together for 5-10 minutes per another recommendation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States