Wedding Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Carole sue
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I made this for my daughters tiered birthday cake. Tasted wonderful, lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I've made several variations on this frosting over the years. In the summer I will use all shortening so it doesn't melt. I also like to double the vanilla extract (and add almond) to make it extra tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by CookandBakeGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Wow this really good! I used 9 cups of powdered sugar. I beat the shortening and butter for 15 min and that helped a lot!! Very good:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookandBakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Imperial, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Simply amazing! Light and fluffy took other's advice and beat butter and shortening for a min. of 10 min. For decorations like roses do not add the full 1/2 c. of milk makes the frosting too runny otherwise it was perfect!! For filling between layers I added crushed Oreo's again simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMPOWERS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Better than Wilton's creamy and perfect. If I could give a 10 I'd give a 10. Suggest using unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This frosting is amazing and if you whip the shortening and butter long enough, Is super light and fluffy. I used it for a small three tier wedding cake with just one batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha Jones
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I made this frosting yesterday to top the Wedding Cake recipe. I followed the recipe but stopped at 4 cups confectioner's sugar and frosted a 1/2 sheet cake. It makes a very tasty frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Delicious! This frosting always turns out great!! Only thing I do different is beat the shortening and butter together for 5-10 minutes per another recommendation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Holy cow, is this good! I halved the recipe and it covered a sheet cake just fine. I used skim milk and 3 cups of powdered sugar and mixed for 20 minutes on medium speed with a paddle. It came out light and fluffy and marvelous. I have to stop myself from baking a cake every weekend just to have this frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUSHPUPPY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Great recipe. I was looking for an icing recipe that could withstand the hot tropical weather outside, but I stopped at 4 cups of sugar & it was just nice. Many of my friends don't want to eat sweet things these days. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hui Min

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States