Wedding Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
I'm not much of a cake fan, but I prepared this frosting to use with "Happy Birthday Cake" from the allrecipes.com website. In fact, it was a perfect match. I'm not enough of a frosting connoisseur to know how closely this recipe compares to that found at the bakery, but it tasted close enough for me. I can't imagine how sweet this would have tasted with the eight cups of sugar that it calls for. Following other reviewer's recommendations, I only used 4 1/2 to 5 cups of sugar, and that was a great plenty. It got rave reviews from my wife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
This is definitely wedding cake frosting. It was good, but since I was going to put it on a strawberry cake I decided to mix the strawberry glaze (that was suggested with the strawberry cake recipe) and it came out really good. I was having trouble getting the strawberry glaze to thicken up enough, but when I mixed it with this recipeI didn't have any problem at all. More than likely I will use this combination again. Everyone at church just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
way too sweet! Wanted something with a fuller flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Windsor, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
I made this recipe to decorate my son's birthday cake. It was great. It was very easy to make and use. I only made half a recipe and had enough for the whole cake and piping. This recipe held up extremely well. It didn't melt or run. This recipe was also very yummy. I put it on a chocolate cake and it covered it very well and you didn't see the brown. Everyone loved it a big hit that not only looked great but tasted great also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I am SO glad I tried this before putting it on a wedding cake. AWFUL! Wouldn't make this tasteless stuff again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
This frosting is easy to work with and tastes great! I get tons of compliments on my cakes when I use this recipe. Takes almost no time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2000
I loved this recipe! I decorate wedding cakes all the time and this recipe does not taste greasy and is very easy to work with. It is a little sweet so I would start with maybe 4 cups of sugar and add a cup at a time until you find the the level of sugar you are comfortable with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2000
Easy to make. Remains durable on the cake...doesn't melt, soak in, or run off of the cake. Not as creamy as I'd hoped when reading the title of the recipe. More like a "Mom's homemade frosting" than wedding cake frosting. Very sugary, but not overwhelming. Kids would probably like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-138 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States