Wedding Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
This is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasfairbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I am also a big fan of Rick's Buttercream and use it as "my" frosting, but wanted to give this one a try. I was worried when mixing it up that it would be too soft for piping but it was fine. Note that this will yield more of an ivory frosting due to the butter, you won't get a pure white frosting. I definitely prefer the flavor of this frosting using butter as opposed to frosting in the Rick's Buttercream. I will use this one when I don't need it to be pure white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I used this (with a few alterations) to ice my parent's 50th wedding anniversary cake. I used salted butter and I also used evap. milk. I went with other suggestions to use less sugar (6 cups was best for our taste). This was so easy to make and it had wonderful buttercream flavor! Had enough to add raspberry glaze to it and made a raspberry buttercream filling for the French Vanilla anniversary cake. Was great for piping decorations and borders also. Highly recommended for those looking for a GREAT buttercream frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Absolutely THE BEST cake frosting I have ever made! I originally became "hooked on" "Ricks special buttercream frosting" on this site, and while it is still a great frosting recipe, I decided to try this one due to the great reviews. It has a much smoother texture and as of now, I will be using this for all my future cake recipes... it is just THAT good! I think creaming the butter and shortening together for 10-12 minutes had alot to do with the great consistency. (Thanks to previous reviewers who suggested this.) Also, I used half and half instead of milk. And I decreased the conf. sugar to 4 cups. (did not use the frosting for decorating, so as others have said, you may need to add more sugar for this). I also used just a tad less (butter-flavored) shortening (maybe 1-2 Tbsp.) as I like the buttery taste. I would highly recommend this recipe for anyone who likes a delicious soft buttercream frosting. Edited to add that I now replace the half & half with heavy whipping cream... makes the frosting so light & fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bucket of cookies
Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I loved this frosting .I did make some changes .I used 1 1/2 of butter and only 1/2 cup of butter shortening and I used 1 1/2 teaspoon almond extract and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract.This was so good I couldn't stop eating.Thanks so much I love it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
My family is CRAZY for this frosting. I use it on all our b-day cakes! I grew up with a bakery that went out of business and I have been on a quest to recreate their frosting.....and this does just that! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethmorris1125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brecksville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I used all butter since I don't normally have shortening in the house. Absolutely awesome!!! I used it with Hershey's Perfectly Chocolate cake and it was the perfect combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This is a great frosting for wedding or holiday cakes. It is very sweet, so I would cut the sugar by a cup or two. Very fluffy and pretty, but not a very "flavorful" frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This frosting is absolutely delicious! I used it on my husbands birthday cake. He loved it! I only used 6 cups of confectioners sugar though. I used the frosting for a 9x13 cake and still had a lot of frosting left over. I melted the remaining frosting and poured it over my cream cheese pound cake. I will use this over and over!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elba, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Awesome frosting! I made some cupcakes for my friends six year old's birthday party. Baked the cake inside of ice cream cones and made this frosting for the tops. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States