Wedding Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by BB34
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This is my favorite buttercream recipe. I use this when making special cakes for family events. Holds up well to a variety of borders.I never measure the sugar. I just dump in the whole 2lb bag, then add the milk until its the right consistancy. I also use real vanilla, not clear, because I'm usually using this for birthday cakes and dont need it to be pure white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RATHBUN
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
My two year old and I had a great time baking a cake for Valentines Day, and eating the frosting. I made a half batch, but used 1 teas. vanilla, and 1/2 teas. almond extract. The flavor was awesome, and the consistancy was perfect for spreading on the cake. Beating the mixture for 5-10 minutes is key. It thickens and creamy the frosting by adding air. Also, I added a touch of red gel coloring to make it pink. No lumps - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RATHBUN

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This frosting is YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This was excellent frosting. I used all organic ingredients, scaled it up by 50% and put it on the wedding cake recipe submitted by Larisa Townsend. I recommend letting your cake cool before finishing this recipe, so you can apply it immediately. Goes very well with fresh strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This is the best home made frosting I have ever tried. I did replace 1 tsp. of vanilla extract with 1 tsp. of cherry extract to go along better with my chocolate cherry cupcakes, still it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I used this recipe mainly for it's adjustable consistency and it served me well. Adding a little more powdered sugar makes it better shape-able to pipe in 3D designs like flowers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Smooth, creamy and very spreadable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
My family usually doesn't do well with cake frosting because it's too sweet, but this recipe is great! It spreads on nice and thin and isn't sickeningly sweet. Not only that, but with a little powder meringue added it works well for decorating as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I, the frosting failure of the universe, was able to make a delicious buttercream frosting with this recipe. It is a first. I didn't even follow it exactly. I think I shorted the shortening a little... but even using this recipe as a guide gave me fantabulous results. Who knew shortening made frosting so good??!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
So easy to make and turned out great, taste and consistancy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States