Wedding Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I have definately had better buttercream. I did improve it by using raspberries and a cup of sugar and 1/4 water to make syrup. Let it cool and poured into the frosting. Had a beautiful fresh raspberry flavor. Husband enjoyed it. I didn't really like it on its own but great for a base of adding fresh fruit flavors to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaMack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Far too much shortening in this recipe, it was not delicious at all :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Schurrer-Maro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie C
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I would like to be able to give this a 4 1/2, it has a very good flavor, but I had to cut the milk in half and even when I did that I added an extra 1/2 cup to a cup of the confectioners sugar. I did need a bit of a thicker consistency though because I was piping this on to cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I really liked this frosting, it was light, delicious, and very easy to spread. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception that I used almond extract instead of vanilla and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitly Poo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: West Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Nothing special to me. Just the standard stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
This is a delicious tasting frosting and VERY easy to work with. I was a little wary of beating it so long, but it did work so there was no greasy taste at all. I must say that I wasn't exact with the measurement for the sugar. I just kept adding it until it was the consistency and flavor that I liked. It's not too sweet and very spreadable. I found that I did not need to add any milk. My only complaint was that the frosting never set at all which was fine since a three year old at the party "bumped" into it and I was able to fix it with no visible sign of a repair. It simply spread right out even on the next day. For decorating purposes though, I might have used a different recipe so it would be stiffer. I will use this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Getzville, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I have found my perfect frosting recipe! It held up to a warm CA day, used my mechanical gun with a variety of tips - each a beautiful sucess, and the flavor was smooth, sweet, and not greasy at all. I did cut back to sugar by 2 cups and used French Vanilla flavor. Thank you for this recipe, buttercream will never be the same for me again. Oh, and did I memtion the rave reviews from my guests when they tried it with my Strawbery yogurt cake?:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I followed the other's advice, and added 1 1/2 tsp of peppermint and decorative green suger for a little crunch. I put this frosting on chocolate cupcakes, amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
just gave this recipe a try for my sons birthday cake and turned out great. only used 5 cups sugar and it spread perfect and tasted wonderful. this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Sexton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
the recipe,as is, made enough to generously pipe frost 24 cupcakes. I still had enough frosting to probably pipe out dozen more....day 1 frosting was excellent and so light and fluffy( i let it mix for 15 minutes and only used 6 cups sugar) by the end of day 2; frosting started to change texture and could definently taste the ingredients separating. overall, i loved it!! best when used immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States