Wedding Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I cut back the sugar to 5 cups and added 1 tsp popcorn salt. This is the perfect frosting for cakes and cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
The best buttercream icing I have made in a long time, this is a keeper. My daughter who also bakes cake told me it was a good icing. Try it you will love it on your cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I got a mushy soup when I made it. I had to almost double the sugar to get it to have any thickness at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living Well

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This is my go-to buttercream icing recipe. I've used it many times, in many different types of weather, and it has yet to disappoint. The only thing I change is add only one tsp of clear vanilla and two tsps of almond extract. Also, you may want to add a little less milk as needed for piping or for using food coloring. Other than that, be sure to beat it for at least 20 minutes, and you'll have heavenly icing that will be requested over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystalbelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This worked so nicely! I swapped almond extract for the vanilla and it went perfectly with my cake. A couple little boys enjoyed measuring and sifting all the powdered sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I never use shortening, only butter. This tasted way too much of butter & it was too watery. I found this out after I had put it in the pipeing bag or I'd have added more sugar to it to thicken it up, I iced my cup cakes anyway & put them in the fridge hoping that will do the trick. I chose this recipe because it had no egg, Im saving my last egg for another recipe. I wont be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Not too sweet, very fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This is an awesome recipe. I looked at previous reviews, used the evaporated milk, almond and vanilla essence. But because my two teenage boys do not like too sweet frosting, I replaced two cups of icing sugar with two cups of very fine almonds. Wow ! What a lovely texture and taste. I would not use the almonds for piping though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This turned out to be really great for me, and I think it makes a huge difference in the type of butter you use. The first batch I made with a store brand butter which resulted in a "plastic-y" taste (for lack of a better word to describe it)... did NOT taste like butter, soI added a tsp. of butter flavoring to it, which helped immensely. Tasted exactly like buttercream candies. My second batch I made with a name brand butter and it even smelled better while mixing. Almost forgot, too... we didn't have milk or cream, so I subbed French Vanilla coconut milk creamer that I had on hand. Maybe that's what made it taste so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Just finished making this, 1/2 recipe but exactly as given. All I can say is the two one star reviews must have missed something, or accidentally used cornstarch instead of powdered sugar??? No way you can say this is tasteless, hold false reviews to yourself, please. At least explain what you tasted and maybe we all could help. If fact, look at 95% of the butter cream recipes out there -- they are almost all identical, give or take yield!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States