We Be Jammin' Jamaican Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
This is FANTASTIC!!!! I added a little more rum and lime zest/juice and skipped the vanilla. I let the topping ( sauce ) cool a bit to thicken and poked lots of hole in my 4 mini loaves. You'll need a extra napkin - it is a bit sticky. But everyone was asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
With all of the extra ingredients - coconut, lime, and rum - I expected this to taste totally different than regular banana bread, but it didn't. The glaze was good, but I agree with another reviewer that the nuts and coconut could be left out of the glaze and to poke lots of holes in the top to allow it to penetrate the bread. Overall, it was good, but not as exciting as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Amazing! Moist and supremely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I think this bread is very good. However, my husband doesn't like it, so I think it's a matter of preference. This is the same recipe that appeared in Cooking Light magazine several years ago. I have also swapped the butter and cream cheese for a good old stick of butter, and it's good. I crave this bread from time to time, especially in the summer when I need something lighter tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
flavor was excellent, a nice change from the classic banana bread. i overbaked mine a little so it didn't turn out very moist, but i'm going to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This was a regular banana bread and not that exceptional with all these good ingredients. It took too much time to get this average tasting cake and i dont think i will do it again. If baking you have to bake at 350 it burns quickly at 375, it also makes one bread not two. It also lacked the most essential ingredients for a banana bread. Cinamon and Nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
A very yummy bread! I added about 8 fresh cherries to mine---a really nice addition I thought! But all in all, a very good banana bread! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
It was good, but I won't make it again. Here are things I would recommend for someone making this: It makes *one* loaf. I would use 350 degree oven as it was near burning after 50 minutes. The topping is good, but falls off when you cut the cake. I would recommend stirring the coconut and pecans from the topping into the batter itself, then preparing the glaze part of the topping only. Skewer the cake before you apply the glaze so it sinks in. This way you still have all the "jamaican" elements, and the glaze really is quite tasty. The cake itself was moist and had a nice texture, so I may refer to this idea of using cream cheese in the future on other banana bread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
Yum! This was very good. I brought it to work and everyone ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
this was ok. I love banana bread! the best part of this was the topping on the bread. i ended up cutting the top off and just eating that. probably won't make again, i'll just make my regular banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States