Wazzu Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This is a good chili recipe! It looks like alot of work, but really it isnt. I used 3 fresh garlic cloves instead of powder. Years ago at a chili cook off people told me cinnamon is a secret ingredient. I put a small dash in and it really brings out the tomato and spice. I've made this recipe several times & have never been disappointed. It works in the crockpot too. Just cook up the meat with the onion & garlic. Throw everything in the pot, cook on low 6 hours. I like to make Jiffy cornbread with buttermilk to go along. The chili is good leftover made into frito pie or burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I cook with days ending in "Y"

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
It finally got cool enough to have chili. This was very good. I didn't refridgerate it before eating it. I didn't use the habanero. I also used beef broth instead of water. I let it cook for around 4 hours. I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
needed a lot of ingredients, but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
When I saw "Wazzu" in the name of this recipe it reminded me of my alma mater, Washington State University (Wazzu for short). Sure enough, you are from Seattle! Great chili, great flavor. This will now be my "go to" recipe! Anne from Minnesota
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
GO COUGS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Good recipe in general but....a TABLESPOON of salt? I read this, thought it must be a mistake, so put in a half tablespoon. That was still too much. With all the added salt in the beans and canned tomato products, I think a teaspoon would have been closer to the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This was the first chili I've ever made and everyone really liked it. I browned the meet and cooked the onions and peppers in a pan first but then I cooked it all in a slow cooker, came out awesome. I cooked it on low for about 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
We absolutely loved this chilli. We're in Texas so we added 2 habonero chillis along with the 2 jalapeno. But the underlying flavor is really really good. Thanks for the great recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslijo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I am loving this! I think the pork beef combo makes a big difference. I set this up before work, leave on low in my crokpot for approx 8 - 10hrs. Makes great leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I made this for a work party and they did everything but like the bowl clean. I did change a few things. I used 2 onions, 2 bell peppers, 5 cloves of garlic, 1 can chili beans, 2 cans kidney beans, and 4 jalapenos, no habanero. It is a staple at any sports gathering or party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States