Wazzu Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I thought this chili was okay. I did change it up a bit. I made it vegetarian and left out the hot peppers. I basically kept everything else the same. What I really didn't care for, though, was the cornmeal in the chili. Even though, I let it simmer it still affected the texture and slightly the taste of the chili. I have put masa in S. American soups, and it worked. However, the cornmeal here was just really different and off to me. It was a little soupy also, but I assume that was from leaving out the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I didn't have tomato paste on hand, so I used two boxes of Pomi - one chopped tomatoes and the other strained. I used all ground beef. I wanted to keep the heat down so I used a small can of green chiles, diced, instead of the habanero/jalapeno. The seasoning mix is spot-on. This was really good, a hit with the entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Turned out great and everyone loved it, would have given it 5 stars but couldn't since I'm a Husky fan, lol!!!!! Go Dawgs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I make this chili in the crock pot. I sautee onions and garlic in a pan then throw it in with the rest of the ingredients. Once the onions are in, I use the same pan to brown the meat. Then I just toss the meat in the crock pot with everything else and leave it on low or high. It doesn't matter. I can tell when it is done. The longer it is cooked, the better. Just don't leave it on high for over 8 hours without checking it. It might be fine if you did leave it that long but I have never tried it. This is the only chili I make. It was the first recipe I have tried out. I don't want to make another. I actually joined allrecipes just so I could review and rate this Chili even though it already has 5 stars. We eat it straight with some sour cream, onion and cheese on top until we get sick of it. The next couple of days we make noodles for chili mac. It is great with or without noodles. Noodles may be a good idea for those reviewers I have read commenting that this recipe was too spicy. Lots of noodles and sour cream can help a chili that's a little too spicy. Enjoy!!! I hope everyone that stops by tries it out! It is worth it. The way to a man's heart is through his stomach. (This follows for ladies too- so feed your woman!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyckoff, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Awesome Chili... will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I give it 4 stars because it has potential, but it needed more salt and next time I would definitely skip the green bell. The flavor really clashed for me and my hubby. Another type of bell pepper would work better. It was ok, but I like the flatlander chili better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshleyM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Substituted the H20 with beef broth, and used 1 less can of beans, this Chili makes the taste buds Happy Happy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I've been trying a lot of chili recipes lately, and this one takes the cake!! This will be my new recipe even though there's quite a bit more labor involved that most of the other ones I've made. I omited the habenero pepper, and am glad I did, as it was spicy enough without it, especially for my kids. GO COUGS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Papiez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Too hot for me but hubby and son loved it. Followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States