Wazzu Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Best. Chili. Ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Never made chili before, this one sounded tasty plus I'm from the Seattle area so had to go with it and this chili rocks!!!! Will always remain in my fav's ;) -L
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Wow! Fabulous chili! We all love chili when it's cold outside ... And this recipe was a hit with the entire family. I have made it numerous times now. It is also very forgiving so if you don't have (or like) something that is called for, just substitute something you do like! I am whipping up a batch right now. I always make a sweet corn bread to accompany this and the sweet and spicy are fabulous complements. Thanks for a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Good flavor despite the sodium. I added an extra 28 oz. crushed tomato due to the excessive salt. I usually cut all salt at least in half, but didn't go that far this time. What a mistake! Now it's time to add some more beer and water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I won first place last night amongst a large pool of contestants- is there anything more that needs to be said? Excellent, people stripped nine quarts of this while leaving others half to almost full- and the reason why is the medley of tastes. I was highly reluctant to put the peppers listed in, because I was afraid it would be too hot for those who didn't like fire in their food; just the opposite. I taste-tested it on a hot chili aficionado and one who was adverse to spicy food. They both loved it, quoting the underlying flavors that were so fantastic. It has a tiny bite but not enough to make anyone uncomfortable, even children. Pepper it up more if you want but, as the prize tag said, this is the "most exquisite" chili available!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I've made this recipe multiple times. This is an incredible recipe. I made it without the beer and habaneros, and just added more jalapenos—six in total. My chili beans were red kidney beans, mexican chili beans, and garbanzo beans. I used Del Monte Diced Tomatoes, Chili Style. I added 2 cups of water instead of 1. I think that the secret of this recipe is the amount of chili powder and cumin. The cumin adds that special flavor that makes you keep reaching for the ladle to have another bowl, or three. It's got just enough heat to please the spicy fans, and if you want to cut the heat, just put a dollop of sour cream in your bowl. My friend used this recipe in a chili cook-off, and placed second. If you like a hearty, meaty chili, you cannot go wrong. Simply outstanding, and so easy to make. Next time I make it, I will definitely use a pale ale beer instead of 1 cup of water. Five solid stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
A cool fall day, football on tv, my husband's birthday, and lots of family and friends coming over : what else to make but chili? This recipe earned me so many compliments-- and the best one of all was there was not a drop left in either crock pots. I times 4 ed this recipe, and instead of 4 lbs of hamburger put in 5 cause I like beef in chili, and instead of regular ground pork, I used 2 1/2 lbs of spicy Italian sausage. Also, I love beans and used a variety: chilibeans, black beans, dark and light and white kidney beans. And having never used habenero peppers before, when my husband told me they were so hot they would "change my life for half an hour" I opted for fresh jalapeño. Since I was times 4ing I used just four finely diced. I did think this chili was pretty labor intensive-- I was cutting 4 large onions for half an hour alone! I cooked on the stove and for serving purposes transferred to crock pots the next day. The chili had a lovely, lingering heat to it. It served over 20 and people were all getting seconds. The little ones said it was too hot but it was a hit. Delicious chili, fantastic recipe! I'm glad that I snuck a little pot for my husband and I to have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This is my go-to chili recipe. It's easy to adjust the heat to your liking. When I cook this for my family, I usually use ground turkey instead of ground pork to cut down on fat. Otherwise, I follow the recipe and it turns out great everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
We had a bunch of home-grown peppers from a neighbor, so I can't guarantee that I used the peppers that the recipe calls for, but this was a really great chili nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trump29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Great tasting chili. My family isn't into real hot spicy things so I only used half a habanero and one jalapena and about half the cayenne pepper. The pork and beef mixture was just right for this recipe and the beer left a hint of a taste. The family loved it and it's now in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Manchester, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States