Wazzu Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Mmmm, great chili! I made it exactly as stated. Perfect amount of heat! I did feel that something was missing... some layer of flavor that I can't put my finger on. But this was really good nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This is really GREAT chili, but be warned, it is hot. I didn't use beer, instead substituted 1 can beef broth, otherwise I followed the recipe excactly. Didn't refrigerate overnight - we ate it the same afternoon (after about 4 hours in a 200 degree oven). Can't wait to taste the leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbxxiv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
We like a lot of meat, so I added in an extra pound of ground beef. I used red pepper instead of green and because I'm scared of handling real habanero peppers, I eliminated it and used one can of mild green chilies. I know it's not the same, but it's really all I had. I also used all black beans because that's all I had on hand. Because I didn't want it to be too spicy for my kids, I used california chile pepper, which has all the flavor of chili powder without too much heat. (You can find the california chile powder hanging from a j-hook in your "ethnic" section of your grocery store and it costs less than a dollar.) I did not add much more than a pinch of salt. I used all organic ingredients where I could. I threw everything in the crockpot and mixed it and let it sit overnight, then this morning, I've been letting it cook away. I've had a small bowl for lunch without sour cream or cheese and it's tasty, but I think it needs a bit more spices. I really wish I'd not added the cup of water as I think it thinned out the chili a little too much and watered down some of the flavor. If I make this again, I might add beef broth instead. It's a decent chili that adapts well for the crockpot. I think that the longer it sits, the better it gets which is pretty much true for most any chili. I really like the combination of the pork and the beef in chili. I think that's just a winning combo. And dosen't beer go with just about anything? ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Great Chili - of course I changed up a bit to sub more ground beef for the ground pork but this came out great. Go Cougs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lowell S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Very good and easy even though there are mulitple ingredients. I've made many times and eveyone always enjoyed it. The only changes I made was to add a small can of diced green chilies in place of the habanero and jalapeno peppers and I only used one can of beans. This has become our staple Saturday night dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Excellent!! Easy to make and an outstanding addition to our Penn State vs. Northwestern tailgate(and Joe Paterno's 400th win!)! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Great chili, one of the best I've had. I like mine a little on the sweet side, so I added a little molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Great chili. I made adjustments to some of the proportions and added a few other spices (I like A LOT of heat) and it turned out perfect. This will be my go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
We had a Chili Cook Off at work and I chose this one to cook. There were 15 chili's and mine won the overall consensus of the room. So thank you for publishing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Webster, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States