Wazzu Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Made this for a chili contest and we tied for first place. It was perfect - just the right amount of heat too. Excellent flavor and it froze beautifully. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Go Cougs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Best Chili ever. No need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbaileybend
Home Town: Wishek, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Omitted the beer. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
The meat to veggie ratio is not what I love, but the spice mix was excellent. The second time I made the recipe, I added a diced pablano, used 4 garlic cloves and added an extra can of tomatoes and an extra can of beans. I like it hot, so I used an extra habenero too! Be sure to let it simmer to let the flavors blend! This was an excellent base recipe to tweak to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is a very good recipe for chili but I added about a cup of beef broth which I like in my chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This chili is spectacular! I made it for the 2010 Apple Cup. Even though it is fairly labor intensive, the reward is well worth it. We ate it the day of, and it was still good, but it tastes much better the next day, as it is a lot thicker & heartier. My Dad, who is an excellent cook, even admitted to liking this & saying how good it was! This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnydaze126

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Mmmm, great chili! I made it exactly as stated. Perfect amount of heat! I did feel that something was missing... some layer of flavor that I can't put my finger on. But this was really good nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This is really GREAT chili, but be warned, it is hot. I didn't use beer, instead substituted 1 can beef broth, otherwise I followed the recipe excactly. Didn't refrigerate overnight - we ate it the same afternoon (after about 4 hours in a 200 degree oven). Can't wait to taste the leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbxxiv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
We like a lot of meat, so I added in an extra pound of ground beef. I used red pepper instead of green and because I'm scared of handling real habanero peppers, I eliminated it and used one can of mild green chilies. I know it's not the same, but it's really all I had. I also used all black beans because that's all I had on hand. Because I didn't want it to be too spicy for my kids, I used california chile pepper, which has all the flavor of chili powder without too much heat. (You can find the california chile powder hanging from a j-hook in your "ethnic" section of your grocery store and it costs less than a dollar.) I did not add much more than a pinch of salt. I used all organic ingredients where I could. I threw everything in the crockpot and mixed it and let it sit overnight, then this morning, I've been letting it cook away. I've had a small bowl for lunch without sour cream or cheese and it's tasty, but I think it needs a bit more spices. I really wish I'd not added the cup of water as I think it thinned out the chili a little too much and watered down some of the flavor. If I make this again, I might add beef broth instead. It's a decent chili that adapts well for the crockpot. I think that the longer it sits, the better it gets which is pretty much true for most any chili. I really like the combination of the pork and the beef in chili. I think that's just a winning combo. And dosen't beer go with just about anything? ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States