Wazzu Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Great and easy chili recipe. For my batch, I add an extra habanero and a couple serranos. I also replaces the ground pork with ground chorizo. And I don't drink much lagers so I've used other beers as well such as a pale ale or a lightly hopped IPA. Thinking about using a porter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This was outstanding, you made WSU proud. GO COUGS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Ransom, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Chili covers a wide variety of possible flavors and dishes. This chili didn't stand out for being unusual in some way, just for being all around excellent as a red chili that is just what you expected, just done very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Loved this chili. Didn't have a habanero, so I reconstituted a couple dried pasillas, then used the broth in place of beer and water. Amazing. Spices are perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooknwithfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brigantine, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Best. Chili. Ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Never made chili before, this one sounded tasty plus I'm from the Seattle area so had to go with it and this chili rocks!!!! Will always remain in my fav's ;) -L
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Wow! Fabulous chili! We all love chili when it's cold outside ... And this recipe was a hit with the entire family. I have made it numerous times now. It is also very forgiving so if you don't have (or like) something that is called for, just substitute something you do like! I am whipping up a batch right now. I always make a sweet corn bread to accompany this and the sweet and spicy are fabulous complements. Thanks for a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Good flavor despite the sodium. I added an extra 28 oz. crushed tomato due to the excessive salt. I usually cut all salt at least in half, but didn't go that far this time. What a mistake! Now it's time to add some more beer and water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I won first place last night amongst a large pool of contestants- is there anything more that needs to be said? Excellent, people stripped nine quarts of this while leaving others half to almost full- and the reason why is the medley of tastes. I was highly reluctant to put the peppers listed in, because I was afraid it would be too hot for those who didn't like fire in their food; just the opposite. I taste-tested it on a hot chili aficionado and one who was adverse to spicy food. They both loved it, quoting the underlying flavors that were so fantastic. It has a tiny bite but not enough to make anyone uncomfortable, even children. Pepper it up more if you want but, as the prize tag said, this is the "most exquisite" chili available!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I've made this recipe multiple times. This is an incredible recipe. I made it without the beer and habaneros, and just added more jalapenos—six in total. My chili beans were red kidney beans, mexican chili beans, and garbanzo beans. I used Del Monte Diced Tomatoes, Chili Style. I added 2 cups of water instead of 1. I think that the secret of this recipe is the amount of chili powder and cumin. The cumin adds that special flavor that makes you keep reaching for the ladle to have another bowl, or three. It's got just enough heat to please the spicy fans, and if you want to cut the heat, just put a dollop of sour cream in your bowl. My friend used this recipe in a chili cook-off, and placed second. If you like a hearty, meaty chili, you cannot go wrong. Simply outstanding, and so easy to make. Next time I make it, I will definitely use a pale ale beer instead of 1 cup of water. Five solid stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States