Wazzu Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by RR Sands
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I like medium-hot chili while my family prefers milder. So, I added a red and yellow bell pepper, took out the Habanero and fresh Jalapenos and replace those with 4 oz. of canned jalapenos. Rather than the 3 cans of chili beans, I used 1 chili beans, 1 kidney beans, and 1 black beans. Lastly, I also doubled the tomatoe sauce. This resulted in an medium-hot, hearty, chili that when served over rice was excellent and whole family enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RR Sands

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Venice Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Outstanding as is, but silly me, I put 3 habeneros in, because "some like it hot"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocheport, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This recipe was the best chili I have made in years. I followed it exactly and was very happy with the level of flavor and spice. Surprisingly not too hot!!! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Great Chili! I used Miller Chill beer (with lime)...'cause gotta have one for the pot and one for me... Of course, the best way to top this off is with shredded Cougar Gold Cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
loved this recipe. I made a few changes. I used ground turkey instead and mixed all the spices into the meat before I cooked it. I then added the onions and veggies and liquid and then simmered for two hours. I left out the habanero because my hubby thinks they are too hot but the taste was still incredible. Even my son said this is the best chili. He loves chili. I will make this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This was an AWESOME chili recipe. I had to make a few adjustment due to lack of ingredients and personal taste. I omitted the green bell pepper (just not in to them). I also omitted the habanero pepper because I couldn't find any at the local grocery store and insteadused 3 jalapeno peppers. For the beans I used one can of chili beans in hot sauce and two cans of chili beans in medium sauce. I topped the chili with cheddar cheese, chopped red onions, and avocado. My boyfriend must have told me he loved this chili more than 20 times this weekend. It was spicy enough to tingle the taste buds and leave a little burn, but not melt your taste buds hot. Perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leemjo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This chili is spectacular! I made it for the 2010 Apple Cup. Even though it is fairly labor intensive, the reward is well worth it. We ate it the day of, and it was still good, but it tastes much better the next day, as it is a lot thicker & heartier. My Dad, who is an excellent cook, even admitted to liking this & saying how good it was! This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnydaze126

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Even though I am a Huskie fan...this chili is great! I made it for a Superbowl Party we had and everyone raved about it, coming back for seconds and thirds. It was time consuming to chop the fresh ingredients, but it was worth it. I prepared the night before and then put it in the crock pot the morning of the game...it was perfect! Changes..I didn't use a green pepper and I used 2 cans of chili beans and 1 can kidney beans instead. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Mill Creek, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This is our new family favorite chili recipe! I've made it a couple of times and thought the beer taste would be too strong for the kids, but it was fine and they loved it! I used red and green peppers instead and went a little easy on the chili powder and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Made this for a chili contest and we tied for first place. It was perfect - just the right amount of heat too. Excellent flavor and it froze beautifully. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States