Wazzu Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I made this chili for a superbowl party, and it turned out great! I will be using this recipe again and again. Some changes I made: 1) Omitted habanero pepper, and only used one jalapeno, but added a little extra chili powder (I didn't want it to be too spicy for kids, or people who are sensitive to peppers) 2) Instead of using 3 cans of chili beans with the sauce, I used 2 cans of kidney beans and 1 can of pinto beans, drained and rinsed, and added an extra 3/4 cup of water (I wanted to keep the sodium down, and I like kidney beans in my chili) 3) I used an Amber Ale for the beer 4) I used the leanest ground beef and pork I could find (at least 90% lean) but I did not drain before adding to the pot. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Delicious! Used ground turkey in place of sausage and added a T of worchestshire sauce. Best chili I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Outstanding and my entire family loved it. I cut back on the peppers. I only used two jalapeños and it still had a small kick. I mixed up all the ingredients and then put it in the crockpot for about 6 hours. It was woven better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Delicious Chili without a seasoning packet. Exactly what I was looking for. I altered the recipe by only using one can of beans, one Jalapeno, and 1 tbs of chili powder. I also ADDED about 2 tbs of liquid smoke. I think the liquid smoke made it very unique and would definitely recommend it! Thanks for the delicious Chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is a very delicious recipe and I'm looking forward to making it again this weekend! What I like is that it has lots of good flavor along with the spicy aspect. We prefer chili with no beans so I added another can of tomatoes, to make it more interesting and I doubled the peppers as we like it spicy. I'm not one to measure too much but I think I followed it pretty closely....it was delicious! It also froze well....it was a bit thick after being frozen so I added a small amount of V8 and a bit more jalapeno and it was just awesome. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Great chili, everyone found it very good. I did use ground turkey instead of ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This recipe is FANTASTIC In Taste without the beans as well. I used course chili meat and ground sirloin. This chili to be used on tamales and other mexican dishes during the Christmas holiday. Real simple prepping. The key is the maranade of all the ingredients and seasonings cooked and then the overnight processed. Foods always taste BETTER the next day because seasonings have time to marinade and blend. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Very flvaorfull and rich chili I substituted beef cubes for the pork Seasoning the meet when browning increased the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Loved this chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Awesome chili recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States