Wazzu Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This chili is awesome1 I would recommend it to those who like spicy dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Easy to make and tastes great. Took this to a chili pot luck and got lots of compliments. I toned down the spice by replacing the Haberneros with less intesne chili peppers at the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Plummer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Fabulously flavorful! =) I have been home for 2 days cooking my heart away to get through Hurricane Sandy. Thankfully no loss of power! For this recipe I skipped the habanero and only used 1 jalapeno & a 1/4 tsp of Cayenne Pepper as I'm not into too much "heat". Used 3/4's green pepper and 3/4's red pepper and also used light red kidney beans, dark red kidney beans and Canneloni beans to add color to the recipe. I also threw in 4 tablespoons of the Speedy Salsa recipe from this website that I made yesterday. Totally delicious! Excellent the first day and even better the next day after the flavors have congealed. Great recipe~ Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
GREAT flavor and heat. Love the addition of the beer. I would advise "heat-phobic" folks to look at the recipe. Heat comes in several different places: habaneros, cayenne pepper, chili powder. If you don't like it so spicy, sub a milder chili for the habaneros, like a jalapeno. I also used a black IPA (I like the stronger beers). Was GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Best Chili I have EVER made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I make this chili often. After trying many different recipes this won out. Excellent. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Very good. I goofed and used hot It sausage instead of ground pork. Did not have habanero peppers so I used 3 jalapeno. Forgot the corn meal and used extra chilli powder. Boy was this spicy! We really liked it. Will make again for a dish to pass at a clambake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencerport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I thought this chili was okay. I did change it up a bit. I made it vegetarian and left out the hot peppers. I basically kept everything else the same. What I really didn't care for, though, was the cornmeal in the chili. Even though, I let it simmer it still affected the texture and slightly the taste of the chili. I have put masa in S. American soups, and it worked. However, the cornmeal here was just really different and off to me. It was a little soupy also, but I assume that was from leaving out the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I didn't have tomato paste on hand, so I used two boxes of Pomi - one chopped tomatoes and the other strained. I used all ground beef. I wanted to keep the heat down so I used a small can of green chiles, diced, instead of the habanero/jalapeno. The seasoning mix is spot-on. This was really good, a hit with the entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Turned out great and everyone loved it, would have given it 5 stars but couldn't since I'm a Husky fan, lol!!!!! Go Dawgs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States