Wazzu Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Delish! Made this for a family get together and everyone loved it. It was so good I have to make it again today for my daughter's b-day party. I didn't use a habanero but added an extra jalapeno and extra cayenne. Flavor was excellent and wasn't too hot. I put hot sauce on the side in case someone wanted to spice theirs up a bit. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Tasty chili! Followed the recipe. Great on a cold PNW Winter day. GO COUGS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpea204

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
You know, I don’t really like chili. I’ve always had to make it, however, because Hubs and my kids liked it. In fact my grown son, a fine cook in his own right, still says I make the best chili (go figure, I don’t like chili and I never taste when I cook). That said, this is some of the best chili I don’t like that I’ve ever eaten! Ok, I changed it up, but I only did so in a big way with the heat factor, cutting back drastically on all things hot because of Hubs’ sensitive innards – but the truth is I don’t enjoy food that makes my throat and lips burn either. So that meant no cayenne or habanero, and just a teensy bit of jalapeno. I guess it was essentially “sissy chili” but we loved it. While I cut back on the heat I increased the beer! I made half a recipe, which meant I only needed half a beer. I don’t like beer so I wasn’t about to drink it but I didn’t want it to go to waste either, so it all went in the pot! I used all beef, no pork, and adjusted the tomatoes, sauce, paste and water to get the consistency I wanted. I also threw in a can of kidney beans. Except for the beer and the cornmeal, this isn’t vastly different from how I make my chili, but then I don’t “simmer at least two hours” and “refrigerate overnight” before I serve it. I can’t put my finger on what it is exactly, but this chili really comes together like no other – not too hot, tomato-y or chili powder-y, just a perfect chili with lots of body and character. (COULD it be the beer?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Simply the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Our favorite! We're not super huge bell pepper fans so we skipped that, and instead of the super spicy habanero we used serrano. With the chili beans we used 1 hot and 2 mild, and instead of tomato paste and water we just used a second can of sauce.. since it's the same thing.. Other than that we stuck to the recipe, and it's always amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Cooking Couple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nantru
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is a good chili recipe. One of my top 3 favorites, for sure. Has a hint of sweetness possibly from the beer. Really is better the second day. I like to top mine with shredded cheese, diced onions and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nantru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Followed the recipe except I left out the pork. The seasoning was perfect for me - spicy without being too mild or or overwhelming - just right with great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I have made this recipe several times, and it's hands down the best chili I've ever had. I make it exactly as the recipe is written, no need to change anything. I've thrown in an extra jalapeno and habanero or two to kick up the heat. Either way, it's awesome stuff!My buddies have asked for the recipe and they make it and love it as well. GO FOR IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leesport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I have made this several times. I like it hot so the recipe is fine for me. Everyone else likes it milder, so I left out the habanero. I also like chunks of beef so I added a half pound of 1 inch cubed round steak. and last a can of chili beans drained. We like elbow macaroni (the small ones) so I added a half cup, cooked and added at the end, so I can control how much. We will have this for Super Bowl weekend this year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ebarker2
Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Best Damn Chili

Perhaps the best chili recipe out there.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States