Way Easy Pizza Sauce/Bread Stick Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Perfect sauce! Made it ahead of time and the flavors absorbed in the tomato mixture. It is nice and thick so you can spread it around. Not watery at all. I used 1 clove of garlic instead of the minced, and I used dried parsley instead of fresh. Thank you for a good down to earth recipe! It was enough to make four 12 inch pizzas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Tyler Short

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is good! I do agree w/ others that said it was too thick for pizza sauce...I just added a bit of water and that fixed that problem right up. We thought the flavors were nice...not too overpowering, which was what I was after. I subbed Italian seasoning for the oregano and added a bit of pepper and parmesan cheese...worked nicely and can't wait to try this for breadsticks! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Delicious, but just a little thick for pizza sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Left out the tamota paste ( for some reason I never buy it canned and haven't found the tubes of it) and used no salt added tomato sauce. Used this for buscuit pizzas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Delish! I followed the recipe with exception that I added 1 teaspoon of sugar instead of 1/4 teaspoon and I didn't have a garlic clove so I used garlic powder instead of minced garlic. I also didn't have any minced fresh parsley so I omitted that. This was delish! I was making homemade pizza and realized I that the jar sauce I usually use had gone bad so I used this recipe. Two thumbs up from my kids and I. We used it to dip garlic toast in while waiting for the pizza's to cook and it was so yummy!!! Thank you for a wonderful and easy recipe. I will no longer buy jarred pizza sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Super yummy and super easy, so a for sure winner!! Comes together in a snap, my only mistake/downfall was using store bought crust instead of homemade :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
So so easy and good! I doubt if I will ever buy pizza sauce again since this took only a couple of minutes to put together and tastes so much better than store bought sauce. It had a good garlic taste to it, but I thought the other spices could be stronger. Next time I might try doubling the oregano and parsley and see how that turns out. Still great though, no complaints, I just like to experiment. I doubled the recipe so I could use part of it for a pizza and the rest as a dipping sauce for breadsticks, and I thought it worked out great for both. Thank you for a nice, really simple sauce, Laguna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
YUM! I used this as a base recipe and modified it for what I had on hand (stewed tomatoes vs paste & sauce) and doubled the spices and also added basil. I didn't have parsley wither but so far this is THE best sauce recipe I've made! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALMEMOORE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
My family loves this recipe. We've been using it with the pizza crust recipe we found for months and months now. My boyfriend who lives long-distance from me decided to try and make the pizza my family and I make here. I gave him this recipe and he has gone on and on about how good it is for two days now. He told me he was going to put a bunch in his pizone and dip it on some more after, lol. The ONLY thing we have done different is use 1 15oz can of tomato sauce rather than 2 6.5's for cost and whatnot. Thanks for the recipe!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Quick, easy, and tasty. I doubled the oregano, added about 1/4 tsp of dried basil, skipped the garlic salt & parsley since I don't have any, and added a dash of salt. I used it as a dipping sauce for calzones and it was great. I simmered it on the stovetop a little while so that the flavors could meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States