Wave Your Flag Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I made as directed, but I baked my own pound cake from scratch. I would give this recipe 5 stars for appearance, but only 1 or 2 for taste. The Jell-O layer just didn't seem to go well with the other layers. I think pudding would have been a better choice for that layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marletha Snowden Dyer
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Easy to make...I baked my own pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I made this wrong! So, I can't give it 5 stars based on what I did. BUT, what I ended up with was really great and got rave reviews! I only had one strawberry jello, so I used a packet of unlavored gelatin and added 1.5 tsp to that. I also didn't have cool whip, so I made whipped cream with heavy whipping cream, sour cream and sugar - of which I was supposed to used powdered but only had granulated! I also only had 2 hours til party time, not the 4 hours required to chill! So, I put it in the freezer instead for an hour - and it all worked out. Really tasty. I think I will make the jello again the same way as I did before, but try using cool whip next time as that would be way faster and easier! But it did have a great tangy taste making homemade... :) Thanks so much for this recipe, I will be sure to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Photo by BECCAP
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
thanks for the base idea for a wonderful cake! i nixed the jello altogether because i'm really not a big fan. i laid the pound cake in the bottom of the pan, and topped with a handful of blueberries, raspberries, and diced strawberries. then i poured over a can of blueberrie pie filling. then the cheesecake mixture, topped with the fresh fruit flag. TO DIE FOR!!! it's a 4th of july tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This was very good. I didn't let the Jello sit long enough before I added it to the pan so my pound cake floated, but it was still delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BGoolsby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
It is an okay cake. I'm glad I tested it out before making it for the 4th. I don't really like the jello in it. This is not a cake I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I've made this the last couple years and everybody still loves it. I've even made as a birthday cake (berries not in a flag).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is a very pretty, crowd pleasing cake. It turned out beautifully and tastes delicious as well. Made it for our 4th of July party and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roseytheriveter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This came out so pretty and festive. I thought the cake part was ok, but overall, I can't think of making anything else for the 4th. Everyone wowed over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Horrible! hated the cream cheese in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States