Watermelon Vodka Slush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This was OK. I used Bacardi melon instead of liquer, and adjusted the recipe to 5 oz vodka and 5 oz Melon Bacardi. I used more watermelon than 4 cups...closer to 8 cups per blender-full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4kidsinthehouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Made the first batch of this as directed in the recipe,used Midori, we liked it quite a bit- but made the second batch with lime juice and some lime zest, and watermelon Pucker--- way too sweet. So this third time we found the perfect blend for us, which is to use Midori and substitute lime juice for the lemon with a little zest, too. Yummy and thanks for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickrell, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Adams, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyRJ
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
WOAH, strong! I thought it was alright, probably would have been better if I wasn't so sick of vodka :( But my boyfriend and his parents loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyRJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
made these on a girls weekend and they were a hit. ran out of vodka before watermelon but sure enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
As written I could not drink this - it had an almost bitter aftertaste. I ended up returning it to the blender and adding frozen strawberries and strawberry juice concentrate which made it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
one little dash of Campari did "something"? Seemed to meld aftertaste. Who knew? Did not mar taste of melon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This recipie made a lot more than just 4 martini glass fulls for me. I used 3/4 cup vodka but it still tastes strong (and I'm definitely not a 'weak drink' kinda' gal!) Also - I was impatient and only let the watermelon puree stay in the freezer for an hour - letting this freeze seems like a crucial step (esp to achieve the slushy consistency that will make this drink awesome.) Let me take another sip.... ahhh... maybe a little more melon liquour? The triple sec suggestion sounds like a good one. Maybe a tad more simple syrup? Then again maybe it's my watermelon that is not the sweetest? (Now that I'm buzzed and can't stop adding my opinions... I think it's best I leave! I froze the leftover concoction and will pop it in the blender again tomorrow and see how it fares when it's in a slushy state.) Happy sipping! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROWNROSES2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
These turned out pretty tasty but really sweet! That is not a bad thing, I'm just not used to drinking sweet, fruity drinks. I made as written, and they really pack a punch and have a strong watermelon flavor also. My fruit wasn't even that sweet I was suprised, but the melon liqueur really brings out the flavor. I did forget to freeze my glasses, be sure to freeze because the drinks started seperating quickly. Very nice summertime beverage, thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This sounds wonderful, I have it saved for my 21st birthday this september 11th, How would it taste with coconut added, eiher coconut rum or just flaked blended in. I think I will add it and let you know :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessMassacre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
It lacked a watermelon flavor, so perhaps it depends on the fruit's juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whiskey Slush

Cool off a hot summer evening with a refreshing, icy whiskey cocktail.

Vodka Martini Cocktail

See how to make a classic vodka martini.

Peeps®-Infused Vodka

Can’t get enough Peeps? Enjoy the marshmallow-flavored treat in cocktail form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States