Watermelon Sangria Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This was very good. I agree with one of the other reviews that it has a very strong Watermelon flavor. After one glass I was ready to dilute it with some 7-up (which was very good, by the way). Next time I will probably cut back on the watermelon. If you are wondering how much watermelon you need - buy ONE of the round seedless watermelons and that is more than enough. I didn't know what simple syrup was so those of you that don't know....its 2 parts sugar to one part water (1 cup of sugar to 1/2 cup of water is plenty for this recipe). Boil the water, add the sugar stirring constantly until desolved, remove from heat and there you have it - simple syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: East Greenbush, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
What an amazing cocktail!!! I served this at a party and everyone loved it. I should say, however, that made as written it would be ridiculously sweet. My watermelons were average in sweetness, but I still omitted the simple syrup. The result was perfect. I used Cointreau instead of triple sec, but both are sweet, so the simple syrup is not needed. If I had added the syrup, the drink would have been disgustingly sweet. So, make as is - but forget the syrup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Did anyone else think this made almost an unmanageable amount of watermelon juice? Maybe I did something wrong but I ended up with over 8 cups of juice before I added any wine, vodka, etc.. I don't have anything big enough to hold all that and the small ratio of wine to juice didn't seem right either. I ended up using a 2 quart pitcher, mixing the triple sec, vodka and simple syrup into the juice, adding the fruit and wine to the pitcher and filling up the rest with the juice mixture. It was very, very good still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I really loved this recipe, and I am not a fan of watermelon, per se. The first time, I halved it, and the only thing I had to change was I used light corn syrup instead of simple syrup. (I assembled all ingredients before I realized I hadn't made any!) Then I topped each glass with some lemon-lime pop, just for some fizz. It is so light and delicious, and to say it tastes like summertime is very accurate. The second time I made it, due to my lazyness, I just squeezed the juice of the orange and lime right into it. I didn't want all those pieces of fruit gettin' in the way of some good drinking! ;) You can have your alcohol, and still feel healthy about it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I didn't use all of the watermelon called for. It was just too much. As it is any more watermelon flavor would have overpowered the rest. Also left out the blueberries. But all in all this was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Excellent summer drink! I made it once and my mom and brother were begging me for the recipe! I used white zinfandel instead of dry white wine, I think it compliments with the fruit better. Also,I used frozen blueberries when I served it so it would keep the drink cooler for longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Made half a batch to try. Wasn't sure until it had fused. Yummy. What a refreshing drink to use the "in season" fruits. The blueberries add that extra flavor. Great job!!! I didn't srain the watermelon, love the texture as is..the "pulp." This drink is flexible. Add more vodka or add more wine...it all taste good. I squeezed the orange and lime right into the mix. I think it would be a fabulous frozen drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yorkville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
It's an acquired taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Thought I would update my original 5-star rating since I made this again this summer. It's still excellent. I used Marq Phillips Hollys Blend wine and Agavero Orange liqueur. Wow, sensational! I used as little pulp as I could. Excellent. I froze it so it got slushy. I was skeptical to use a whole bottle of wine, so I made a half recipe and then went and made the other half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Not much to say here EXCEPT this is so darn tasty I could have made this the entire summer if I found this recipe earlier. I didn't do much different to this except put different fruit (what I had on hand: Orange, lime, lemon). It is divine! Be careful --you can get tipsy quick =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gessica

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sangria Cocktail

A professional bartender makes this classic Spanish wine and fruit punch.

Sangria! Sangria!

See how to make homemade sangria, the perfect summer sipper.

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States