Watermelon Sangria Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Although very good, by the end of my first glass I was already tiring of the sweetness and strong watermelon flavor. I added fresh slices from one Jalapeño to counter balance the sweetness and 'fruit only' flavor. For me and my guests that turned out to be the missing ingredient. Thanks for a wonderful summer drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debbie22
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
We started out by following the recipe exactly, but the sangria had no flavor. I thought we had a nice, sweet watermelon, but the juice just didn't have much taste. We ended up with a bland sangria....so we doctored it up with other juices until it tasted good. Don't think I will try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and used a whole round watermelon (seedless). I thought it was very good, but not 5 stars. I then read others reviews and added a little sprite to my glass and a little more triple sec to cut the watermelon and it tastes great. I'm going to experiment adding squeezed orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Perhaps I expected too much, but this was just eh. If I make it again I think I'll use a higher quality vodka and I may cut back on the watermelon used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Love it. Used all the watermelon, which was for me 3/4 of a big melon. The straining part was crucial and brought the volume down tremendously. I didn't love the lime pieces, will probably just put in a 1/2 limes worth of juice instead. And for easy eating I just used canned mandarin oranges instead of the real fresh deal. That way without the chunks of lime and fresh oranges the fruit is easier to eat in your drink (less peeling involved). This was in the magazine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What you cooking Willis?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Big hit at summer party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This recipe is so easy to make, and so delicious!! Everyone who tries it, loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This tasty delight is a lovely treat to toast summer. As suggested elsewhere, the simple syrup isn't needed unless you like things to be VERY sweet. The drink is sweet without being overly so without it. There's a discrepancy between the ingredients and the directions; use the directions for the amount of watermelon (12 cups total) and you'll be able to fill a gallon-sized container. We used our kitchenaid juicer attachment on the watermelon and got 8 cups of juice out of 9 cups of watermelon. (Experts are correct that watermelons are mostly water, it seems!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Boyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This was very tasty, but I found it to be a lot of work cutting up and blendnig the watermelon, then straining it. More effort than it was worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Too "watermelony"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sangria Cocktail

A professional bartender makes this classic Spanish wine and fruit punch.

Sangria! Sangria!

See how to make homemade sangria, the perfect summer sipper.

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States